Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

ID/Status - Contacts & Companies - Best Practice

ID/Status - Contacts & Companies - Best Practice

I am new to Act! and am using Pro 2012.

I am trying to decide how best to use the ID/Status field in both Contacts & Companies.

I had expected there to be some likage between the 2 (ie if the Copmany is a Hot Lead then should its Contacts not automatically be classed as Hot Leads?) but this does not seem to be the case unless I am missing something.

So just wondering what the best practice is out there for using the ID/Status fields. Thinking that I should, perhaps, use the status to describe the decision making power of the Contact and interest in our products of the Company. Does this make sense?

Thanks

Chris

Tuned Listener

Re: ID/Status - Contacts & Companies - Best Practice

Chris,

The ID/Status can be used in the way that would be helpful for to understand the contact and how it is associated within your database. It can be used to describe a contact on how they are assigned to the database such as customer, contractor, Prospects, employee etc. It is a way to help group your contacts for a way to look them up for a mail out or just to look a group of contacts up to add them to a group etc. This field is also known as a history field. Basically if you alter this field if will generate a history with the date, time, and the user whom changed it. I hope this helps with understanding the ID/Status field. Thanks.

Larry Yates

Thanks for that Larry,

I think that I understand the way in which the field can be used.

My question is more about the ways in which other users have found to make best use of this field in a way which compliments the same (albeit unconnected?) field in the Companies screen.

Chris

I think I have the same query as Chris in that I understand what the ID/Status field is used for i.e. to segment/label your data.