Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

How can I put Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

How can I put Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

How can I put  Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

Dealing with Those two fields have been thorn in my tail feathers for over two years. What up?

I basicly have to work around the use of these fields for my Staffing Product. That greatly limits things for me.

 

When you list all your opps, you can not even customize column view to show the Product Name and Item#.

The whole Products/Services TAB info should be available in column views and Layout views.

What about 2011? Any hope with that version? Maybe I will wait before releasing my next add-on version?

Thanks - FSB

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Employee
Posts: 1,163
Country: USA

Re: How can I put Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

I may be confused, but I think I might have mentioned this elsewhere. Product Name and Item # aren't available as fields to add to the opportunity layout because they aren't opportunity fields. Both of these are public properties of the the sub entity Product.

 

This remains the case in 2011.

 

I can certainly see the value in this and recommend posting it as a feature suggestion.

 

Thanks,

Matthew Wood
Act! SDK Support
Community Moderator
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: How can I put Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

I'm surprised that hasnt been sugggested and I will do.

 

Now, I was able to go into the opportunities / Modify fields for Product TAB

  then I changed the Product Item #   field name to something else and then I tried to change the field name back to Product Item # and I was not allowed to enter the special character #  So I have to make the field name Product Item Nbr

  Is that going to hose me up on my Reports now?

Thanks - FSB

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Employee
Posts: 1,163
Country: USA

Re: How can I put Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

Probably. Reports are reliant on field names and Item # has changed.

Matthew Wood
Act! SDK Support
Community Moderator
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: How can I put Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

How do I change it back to its original name when ACT! wont alllow me to enter a special character such a #.

Have I just been screwed royally and how can I recover without loosing all my design work for today?

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Employee
Posts: 1,163
Country: USA

Re: How can I put Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

Looks as though in the report it's named Product Number, I'd probaby run a report and see if it was indeed affected. Your name change may not have affected the report like I was expecting.

 

There is no way to put the character back in though, special characters are not allowed. I assume this has to do with how the columns are created based on field name

Matthew Wood
Act! SDK Support
Community Moderator
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: How can I put Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

Yep it screwed up many reports so I restored from yesterdays backup and all is well, just lost 1day of work and I cheated to recover it.  Im just glad it wasnt a system field.

So anyway, these opportunities are still only partially customizable and the badly needed part is still not customizable.

 Not being able to use the Product / Services TAB fields on a layout such as the Contact layout, is one major Limitation. The Product Name and Product Item #  should be treated as any other user field.

Eliminate the Products Services TAB. 

Please complete your work on the Customizability of Opportunities Layouts and 2.5 bazillion ACT! users will rejoice.

Make it just like the Contact Layout.

Cheers- FSB

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Employee
Posts: 1,163
Country: USA

Re: How can I put Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

It was only two version ago that Opportunities weren't even their own parent entitiy, but were instead of sub entitiy of contacts. They've come a long way and I'm confident they will continue to improve.

Matthew Wood
Act! SDK Support
Community Moderator
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,653
Country: USA

Re: How can I put Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

My first rule is that if you want to make significant modification to a standard report then DON'T. Start from scratch. Most of the standard reports are very difficult to major changes to.

 

If you want to report product information in an opportunity report, you need to use a subreport.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Jmo
Astute Commentator
Posts: 14
Country: USA

Re: How can I put Opportunity fields: Product Name and Item# on my Layout ? ACT2010 std

I don't know if this wll help, but I've had a lot of issues with this.

I don't know how many  products you offer.  But one option is to create your own product categories in LIEU of the product dialog box.

1. Create a new oportunity field per product or item #.  (note you can create a drop down list or a check box).

In my case I created a field with drop down list for each of my product LINES.

2. Then enter your Opportunity Layout Designer. (it might ask you to automatically after creating the new field)

3. Choose "Field" and a pop-up box will open, You should see your newly created field. Add it to your layout.

 

THough this will fix what you will see on your layout, but since you aren't entering your products in the standard are, it will affect your reports. (I see you had problems, but customzing the reports is wasy since you can rename them).

 

I carry 10 or so product lines with individual items in each, so the standard product dialog box wasn't an option. I use the product line name  (for example, Jordan) and enter the rest of the sale, omitting the ITem #. I then modified the "Item" tab to include my Jordan drop down field, where I select the individual item.  When I run my products report, I still see all the sales in my JOrdan line, just not the individal item. BUT I can pull a query to see exactly what items I sold to whom.

Good luck.