Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited

Accepted Solution Solved
New Member
Posts: 2
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited

Can anyone tell me how to take multiple contacts that have PUBLIC access and convert them all to LIMITED access? I know how to do one at a time however I need to make this change to 1000+ records at the same time. The Replace Field option does not work for this.

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author supreme
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited

This is only in the Premium version of ACT!
 
Create the Lookup
Contacts | Edit Contact Access | Edit Access List

View solution in original post


All Replies
Solution
Accepted by topic author supreme
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited

This is only in the Premium version of ACT!
 
Create the Lookup
Contacts | Edit Contact Access | Edit Access List
New Member
Posts: 2
Country: United States

Re: How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited

Same question ACT! by Sage Premium 2009 (11.0) Version 11.0.0.367

importing CSV's

attempted to set permissions via import (ACL), no dice

attempted to set it via contact list (highlight the list I want changed, Contacts -> Edit Contact Access -> (greyed out) Edit Access List)

I can however do them 1 at a time (Contacts -> Edit Contact Access -> Edit Access List), am I missing something?

New Member
Posts: 2
Country: United States

Re: How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited

I needed to add and then remove a user from the ACL in order for it to make the changes... kinda flakey way to change permissions don't ya think?
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited


justgosh wrote:

Same question ACT! by Sage Premium 2009 (11.0) Version 11.0.0.367

importing CSV's

attempted to set permissions via import (ACL), no dice

attempted to set it via contact list (highlight the list I want changed, Contacts -> Edit Contact Access -> (greyed out) Edit Access List)

I can however do them 1 at a time (Contacts -> Edit Contact Access -> Edit Access List), am I missing something?


 

ACT! won't do it during import unless you import with itImport

 

From the Contact List, you need to select "Add Users/Teams" - this will allow you to add the Users/Teams and mark the contacts as Limited Access

Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 128
Country: USA

Re: How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited

[ Edited ]

My "Edit Access List" stays grayed out tried different users and contacts, the same is happening in the demo database

it just stays grayed out.

 

thanks advance

 

also manually creating new contacts produce same results it just stays grayed out

 

 

server stats: Ms Svr Std 2k8, Ms SQL Svr 2k8 R2 build 10.50.4302, ACT! Premium (Web) 2014 v16.0.291.0_HotFix5, 16GIG Memory
http://www.act.com/support/getting-started-documentation
http://www.act.com/support/downloads/act-premium-v16
http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/36097kwAdministrator%27s%20Guide
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited

Limited Access ism't an option with Pro.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 128
Country: USA

Re: How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited

thanks for feedback i am in

"server stats: Ms Svr Std 2k8, Ms SQL Svr 2k8 R2 build 10.50.4276, ACT! Premium (Web) 2013 v15.1.108.0"

 

webversion premium

server stats: Ms Svr Std 2k8, Ms SQL Svr 2k8 R2 build 10.50.4302, ACT! Premium (Web) 2014 v16.0.291.0_HotFix5, 16GIG Memory
http://www.act.com/support/getting-started-documentation
http://www.act.com/support/downloads/act-premium-v16
http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/36097kwAdministrator%27s%20Guide
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited

Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 128
Country: USA

Re: How To Convert Access Level from Public to Limited

[ Edited ]

no... i am not logged in as admin on the server using the client

changed demo db and custom db permission set to administrator tried adding user then delete user as previously mentioned

still no positive result. will reinstall demo webversion in virtual platform and test with demo db.

Have not seen this work since installation your comment dated back 2008.

Is this same procedure for 2013?? 

server stats: Ms Svr Std 2k8, Ms SQL Svr 2k8 R2 build 10.50.4302, ACT! Premium (Web) 2014 v16.0.291.0_HotFix5, 16GIG Memory
http://www.act.com/support/getting-started-documentation
http://www.act.com/support/downloads/act-premium-v16
http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/36097kwAdministrator%27s%20Guide