Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

History takes a while to display in ACT 16

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: Australia
Accepted Solution

History takes a while to display in ACT 16

HI,

 

I have recently upgraded to Act 16 version 3.11.0

 

When I look at the History tab, it takes maybe 30 seconds or more to display the history. Not every time, but most of the time. It's a bit annoying. Does anyone else have this problem.

 

I am using Windows 8.1 and integrating with Outlook 2003

 

My database is on my local machine

 

Thanks

Stewart Peters


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author stewartpeters
‎10-13-2015 02:12 PM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: Australia

Re: History takes a while to display in ACT 16

Hi Gary,

 

I have done a 'Check and Repair' on my database and also removed some old Data too.

 

I have closed ACT and reopened it and the Histort came up immediately, but I may have to do a full reboot to check this properly.

 

I'll let you know.

 

 

Thanks

 

Stewart

View solution in original post


All Replies
Administrator
Posts: 4,024
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: History takes a while to display in ACT 16

Hi Stewart,
When you say the History tab, are you referring to the actual History tab on a contact or company record, or are you talking about the History List on the left hand side stack menu bar?
If this issue is occurring on the History tab in a Contact / Company, does it happen on all records, even those with little or no history records in the tab?
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: Australia

Re: History takes a while to display in ACT 16

Hi Gary,

 

Yes, the History tab on the Contacts page

 

It seems to be on most records. When I open Act, it shows My Record, which takes about 2 minutes to show my history. Then it seems all the other ctacts show their history immediately. Even when I view another Contact, then go back to My Record, it takes about 3 seconds for the history to display.

 

Yes, it happens on all records, but only when I first open Act.

 

Maybe it is something to do with my Outlook 2003 integration?

 

Thanks

 

Stewart

Administrator
Posts: 4,024
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: History takes a while to display in ACT 16

Hi Stewart,
How many history entries do you have on your 'My Record'? Total count is displayed under the tab panel at the bottom of the window.
If you browse to your database .ADF file, what is it's current filesize?
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: Australia

Re: History takes a while to display in ACT 16

Hi Gary,

 

When I first open ACT it say 0 calls,  but after a minute r so it shows 3928 Hiatories

 

My Databases ADF file is 198656 KB

 

Thanks

Stewart

Administrator
Posts: 4,024
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: History takes a while to display in ACT 16

It really could be a number of things.

 

Have you run any database maintainace recently?

Do you have any filters set on the tab? Try clearing them.

It could simply be the amount of history data you have slowing down the loading process. Removing old data may help.

 

If you'd like a technician to take a closer look, please call us on 03 9111 0500.

Solution
Accepted by topic author stewartpeters
‎10-13-2015 02:12 PM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: Australia

Re: History takes a while to display in ACT 16

Hi Gary,

 

I have done a 'Check and Repair' on my database and also removed some old Data too.

 

I have closed ACT and reopened it and the Histort came up immediately, but I may have to do a full reboot to check this properly.

 

I'll let you know.

 

 

Thanks

 

Stewart

Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Country: Australia

Re: History takes a while to display in ACT 16

Hi Gary,

 

Just letting you know, check the database managemnet I mentioned in my last post has fixed my History taking a long tine to display. Thanks for oyur effificient help!

 

Cheers

Stewart

Administrator
Posts: 4,024
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: History takes a while to display in ACT 16

No problem! Glad to hear you got this resolved.
Thanks for keeping us updated.