Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

History and Logging Problems

New Member
Posts: 16
Country: United_Kingdom

History and Logging Problems

Hi All,

 

I have a problem with a second database that was a blank duplicate of the first. I went through the process of creating the database and everything worked well. I have redesigned all the layout files, installed the exponenciel add in, written all my reports until I have suddenly realised that unfortuantely the logging is not working at all.

 

Under history, I have no options like I do in the first database to look at things like 'System Changes' or anything else, it just simply isn't there as a selectable option - it's stuck on 'None' and I can't click 'All'.

 

All of the fields are tracked fields that should log under history. Also when I try and send an email to anyone stored in the database, it sits there, says that it's synching then the email disappers and doesn't return. It sits there constanly trying to sync but never does.

 

Anyone have any ideas? The database is a totally different name to the first.

New Member
Posts: 16
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: History and Logging Problems

Just to add the DB is Sage ACT! Premium 2011 Version 13.0.401.0, Hot Fix 2

 

I know it's not bang up to date, but I don't have any problems with the other DB and applying the HF updates isn't practical at the moment.

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: History and Logging Problems

[ Edited ]

You did not mention how you created this empty / copy db?  Did you perform ACT!/File/Save copy as?

Or did you perform a Restore db from a ACT zip backup file?

 

Also what Exponenciel addon or other addons are you using?

 

I recommend applying most current Service packs and hotfixes first?

 

Also Have you tried

ACT / Tools / Preferences / Email Outlook Sync Tab

 Add your new database to you addressbook and config your new db to sync  ??

 

Also reference

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19948/kw/2011%20history%20not%20logging 

 

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/list/kw/2011%20history%20not%20logging/search/1 

 

if issue still persist, try running ACTDIAG rebuild options on afflicted db.

cheers - FSB

 

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 16
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: History and Logging Problems

Hi FILLSTAFF

 

Thank you for your reply. I created the DB by doing File Save As, then Blank DB. I have not restored from a ZIP file as I wanted a new database that was very similar but with slight aesthetic changes.

 

I can't easily apply the updates for various reasons and I do not have the problem with the first DB so would like to avoid this if possible.

 

The problem isn't so much with the email sync it's the fact that NO history is selectable. It should be logging, it just doesn't - please see atached imageSage Problem.png

Even though the fields say they should be logging they just don't. I have run the repair and check database from the actdiag and it made no difference.

 

If I create a brand new database without copying from the original then all the loggin works. Any ideas?

New Member
Posts: 16
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: History and Logging Problems

The only plug in installed on the DB is the Exponencial cell calculator:

 

http://www.exponenciel.com/actaddons/actaddon.aspx?ID=111

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: History and Logging Problems

[ Edited ]

Look at your sync options in

ACT / Tools / Scheduler - stop the scheduler / sync so the File/Save-As can work.

 

ACT! / Tools / Sync Panel and Sync with Outlook.

I think you will find the answer here?

==============================================

What do you see when you click the Select Users button?

You should see your user name( same as in your old db?)

 

You did not mention if you tried all my suggestions above?

But assuming yes, have you tried this?

this is sure to work, maybe?Smiley Wink

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19948/kw/history%20filters/related/1 

Cheers - FSB

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 16
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: History and Logging Problems

Thanks for the reply. Sorry, I have done everyting you suggested and no joy. With the picture I have posted up, when I create a new database from scratch I have the options in the list available. When I duplicate the database by doing save as, none of the options are displayed. There must be something fundamentally wrong with the way Sage saves copies of databases as it doesn't seem to understand the history?

 

Emails are just sitting there saying they are synching, then they disappear then a minute later it tries to do it again. It never syncs. But more concerning is even if the email wasn't working, why is not the most basic function of tracking System changes not working? Are the two things related???

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: History and Logging Problems

[ Edited ]

What about in Outlook, when you click on addressbook, do you see all desired ACT! database in that dropdown list?

.pad file types?

Also in Outlook

File / Options / Add ins /

 Do you see ACT! Outlook Add-in ?

If yes, disable it in outlook, then re-enable it?( click on that Go button ), then from the list of outlook add-ins, remove Check from box to disable add-in,    then go back in and place ckeck back in box to re-enable the outlook add-in. -

 

I just created a empty db using Sage ACT! Pro 2011 Version 13.1.111.0, Hot Fix 6 English (United States) and was successful.

Am able to see those History Tab Filter Options - no problem

so perhaps if you repeat process and try again with the ACT! / File / Save Copy as / 

  share it , create empty copy

see if that works?

hope so - I'm running out of guesses -  Smiley HappyFSB

 

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 16
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: History and Logging Problems

[ Edited ]

Hi FILLSTAFF,

 

As per my fifth message, if I do the same as you and create a brand new database then it works perfectly and all the history features are visible. Any sitution that involves a 'Save As' version of the database and the History features disappear and emails do not sync, they just constantly keep trying to but never suceed. It has got to be a bug in Sage somewhere as I have spent a day now trying to fix it and everything you suggest is exactly as it should be, but it simply doesn't work still.

 

A very annoying problem, I am going to have to create the new database from scratch, the only saving grace is that if I use the same field names then my reports and layout files should still be ok. Sigh...

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: History and Logging Problems

[ Edited ]

I'm just guessing but maybe the info below will help?

 

Note: The File / Save As worked for me in my prev post. I may not have been clear on that.

========================================================================

Look at your sync options in

ACT / Tools / Scheduler - stop the scheduler.

 

ACT! / Tools / Sync Panel and Sync with Outlook.

I think you will find the answer here?

 

=========

or  you use the new database and import your data from db1 into the new good db?

You may have to re-create some fields and apply stuff to your layout again but you will be good to go then

===============

Unless you can do a file / restore db / restore-as from a good ACT! backup zip file?

===================

Have you tried stopping the ACT services that pertain to this sync issue?

Start

Run

Services.msc

  look for sql server ACT7 and stop it by double clicking the item and you will see how to stop it.

  and also  Sage ACT! Scheduler

 

and in Task Manager - end the process for ACT! outlook  Sync exe  and possibly act outlook service exe ?

What ever it takes to stop ACT! from making the effort to sync.

 

At some point  you want to ensure that the necessary sync programs and services are running so the sync can complete.

=====================================================================================

Without taking a look see  my self, I am running out of ideas.

You may try deleting/rebuilding your preferences.

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14770/kw/2011%20delete%20preferences/sessio... 

 

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html