Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

Accepted Solution Solved
Astute Commentator
Posts: 40
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

[ Edited ]

I work in a small office of about 6 computers and we are just now migrating over from ACT 2005 to ACT Pro 2011. We have a network storage drive which is where we used to keep the ACT database file and all of our users would just open on the network drive and make the collective edits by doing that.

 

Well I have learned that in the new 2011 ACT Pro we are moving too, that the database cant be stored on a network drive and just accessed like ACT 2005.


So I am trying to set up the sharing so that we can all realtime edit the database. However evertime I try to open the database on a workstation, and not the pc "hosting" the database... I get this error:

 

http://tinypic.com/r/2lldbow/7

 

I have gone through all the forum threads, reading the quoted help article, yet nothing in it has fixed the problem. Sharing is enabled, firewall and antivirus software is not installed/on, Its a new database I just made today to test sharing, so I know it isnt corrupted, permissions are set, I can see and move and delete the files on the hosting pc from the workstation, but whenever i try to open the PAD file it gives me that error. I have literally tried everything...

 

Here is a picture from the workstation showing that I can see the files:

 

http://tinypic.com/r/29aplhf/7

 

And here are the permissions set on the file/folder:

 

http://tinypic.com/r/1evs6q/7

 

I would really appreciate help in getting this resolved, Im to the point of pulling my hair out!

 

Thanks guys! 

 

 

 

 


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author exileskimer
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 130
Country: USA

Re: Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

Did you go through this Knowledgebase Article?

Article #19876

 

Use the IP address instead of the computer name in your .pad file?

Add your SQL port to the pad file?

Thanks!

Leanne Evans
sosoftsol@gmail.com

View solution in original post


All Replies
Astute Commentator
Posts: 40
Country: USA

Re: Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

Anyone? Please!
Solution
Accepted by topic author exileskimer
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 130
Country: USA

Re: Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

Did you go through this Knowledgebase Article?

Article #19876

 

Use the IP address instead of the computer name in your .pad file?

Add your SQL port to the pad file?

Thanks!

Leanne Evans
sosoftsol@gmail.com
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 78
Country: Australia

Re: Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

If you're not running antivirus or firewalls, can you still doublecheck that they are completely disabled? On both sides, your machine and the one trying to access the database.

 

This Article has everything you should try:

 

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/cgi-bin/sagesoftwareonline.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1964...

 

I think the ones towards the end are the likeliest culprit. Let me know how you go with these suggestions.

Astute Commentator
Posts: 40
Country: USA

Re: Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

I REALLY appreciate the help. I'll double check the antivirus and stuff tomorrow. And yes I've gone through pretty much all of the help article

I haven't done the ip or SQL thing yet... Where do I figure out my ip/ do the SQL thing?

If more pictures would help let me know
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 78
Country: Australia

Re: Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

On the computer that hostings your ACT! database:

 

Also, type in Windows Key - R. The windows key is next to the Ctrl key. Type in cmd.exe there. Type in ipconfig.

That should give you a 192 ip address. Then follow the instructions in the KB article.

 

For your SQL: If your computer can open the ACT! database, the SQL is fine on your computer. On the computer trying to open ACT!:

 

It shouldn't matter even if it doesn't have SQL, because it is using the SQL on your computer.

Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 336
Country: USA

Re: Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

Looking at the picture of where your database is, I think that is the problem.

 

The .adf, .alf and .pad files should NOT be in the database file folders.  So, if I have a folder called ActData on the c: drive- this is what it should look like:

 

C:\ActData

Testdb-database files

Testdb.adf

Testdb.alf

Testdb.pad

 

To move these - you'll need to detach the database via ActDiag, delete the .pad file - then move those files up one directory.  Then you can Open ACT! (you'll get a message stating the last database cannot be found) and then choose to Open a Database (select the .adf from file type).

 

Make sure you re-share it, etc.

 

See if that does the trick

Kris Lock
Inside Sales Manager/ACT! Certified Consultant
Technology Transfer Services
www.techtransfer.com
www.myodesie.com
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

Astute Commentator
Posts: 40
Country: USA

Re: Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

Alright guys, here's the latest. Changed to the IP in the PAD file and also moved the file structure like klock said.

When I opened it on the workstation PC, I didnt get the normal error which I normally get, but now have this error.... hopefully getting closer to a solution, again, I appreciate everyone's help

Pictures:

New error- http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/705/unledtjl.png/

Location Of test database- http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/52/locationb.png/

PAD with ip- http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/840/notepada.png/

Sharing- http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/263/folderbeingshared.png/
Astute Commentator
Posts: 40
Country: USA

Re: Going Crazy Trying to Get ACT 2011 Pro Database To Share Across Work Network... PLEASE HELP!

Another update, idiot me hadnt turned on share database when I redid the test database.... that got rid of the error from the post above...

I havent tried it on my main database yet though so Im holding my breath and Ill update this once I have...

Looks like the IP might have fixed it, I cant thank you all enough!