Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Error creating new database on an office server

Error creating new database on an office server

[ Edited ]

Hello,

First of all, please know that I am not technically gifted, although I am pretty good at following step-by-step instructions to solve issues.

I am an end user working on implementing Act! 2012 Pro.  My objective is to have a singular CRM database that can be accessed by multiple licensed users located in the same physical office.  The database may not be web based and thus a locally networked Act! database made sense to me.  I work for a large financial services company that will not support me with this problem because it is not a company approved software.

We have a drive on a central server (located in our office) that everyone has access to.  It is used to back up and share all types of files, mostly standard documents.  If there is something I want to share with another person in the office I "put it on the O: drive"

I am able to create a new database on my personal machine.  However, when I try to create or save a database to the O: drive, it gives me an operating system error message 5.  In my research here on the forum, this appears to be a permissions issue.  Given that we can all add and access files to the O: drive, does this seem right? I'm sorry I don't have the exact message but I am not at the office.  I will update it when feasible.

I've looked at what I think are the permissions of the O: drive and all the boxes are checked.  All of our personal machines are running Windows XP Professional.  I am not sure about the server but can find out whatever info will help someone troubleshoot with me. 

Thanks in advance for any and all assistance.

BAH

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: Error creating new database on an office server