Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Error: The ACT! Address Book service is not properly configured...

Tuned Listener

Error: The ACT! Address Book service is not properly configured...

Hi,

I'm new to the ACT! Community so bare with me while I try to explain the issue.

ACT! v12.0.4 0 HF3

Outlook 2007 SP2

XP Pro SP3

Database on 2003 server, shared.  Upgraded from ACT! v9.x

7 Users total, shared, no syncing.

3 users received new laptops, so fresh installs of Office and ACT!.   (no upgrade or previous versions)

These 3 have received the "  Error: The ACT! Address Book service is not properly configured, or one of the configured databases is locked. Do you want to configure it now?"

I would configure it and Outlook can be closed and opened several times and no message. One or 2 days later the message comes back.

I've gone through KB Answer 13531 and even checked out 17431,

I uninstalled ACT entirely, cleaned out all remaining files and most registry keys to ensure, rebooted, reinstalled, reconfigure Address book and again would fix for a day or two and the message would come back.

I've deleted the reg keys specified in KB HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ACT\OutlookAddressBooks.

I've recreated the PAD file.

Ran countless  Check and Repairs, both through ACT! and through ACTDiag.

DB Status is Online and is not locked

I even configured one machine for the ACT Demo database and that lost its setting a day later too.

What else can I try or do I have to hire one of those ACC type of people to help me out?

Thank you,

Raul

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: Error: The ACT! Address Book service is not properly configured...

[ Edited ]

Hello Raul,