Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ERROR EXECUTING DATABASE BACKUP STATEMENT

New Member
Posts: 4
Country: USA

ERROR EXECUTING DATABASE BACKUP STATEMENT

Hello Everyone! This is my first post, so please forgive me if I am doing something wrong.

I am running: Act! Pro Version 16.2.14.0, Hot Fix 5

When trying to backup my database, I get this message:

 

Backup destination "\\server" supports a FILESTREAM filegroup. This filegroup cannot be used as backup destination. Rerun the BACKUP statement with a valid backup destination.
BACKUP DATABASE is terminating abnormally.
PRC_MAINT_BACKUPDB: ERROR EXECUTING DATABASE BACKUP STATEMENT

 

I have tried to backup to various destinations, but get the same message. I tried 
C:\Users\"username"\Documents\ACT\ACT Data\Backup\Act! SERVERDB.zip

C:\Backup\Act! SERVERDB.zip

G:\Backup\Act! SERVERDB.zip (USB Drive)

M:\Backup\Act! SERVERDB.zip (NAS Server - Network)

 

Any help in solving this problem would be appreciated!

 

Thanks in advance!

Administrator
Posts: 4,024
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: ERROR EXECUTING DATABASE BACKUP STATEMENT

Hi sixfootchicken,

 

Just to confirm, are you experiencing this error when using the File > Back Up feature in Act?

 

After some research, it appears this error is due to a bug in Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2

It appears that the issue was resolved in SQL Server 2012 RTM.

 

You could try backing up though ActDiag:

  1. Open ActDiag.exe
  2. Click Databases > Database list
  3. Left click on the database to select it
  4. Actions > Backup Database (SQL bak file)

This method will not include your attachments and templates .etc. Please copy the Database Files folder separately to ensure you have a complete backup.

 

If this method also runs into the same error, then your options would be to upgrade to SQL Server 2012 (this must be done as a manual upgrade from 2008), or upgrade your version of Act to v17 or later which includes SQL Server 2014 (SQL Server 2008 must be removed before upgrading).

New Member
Posts: 4
Country: USA

Re: ERROR EXECUTING DATABASE BACKUP STATEMENT

Hi Gary,

Thank you very much for your reply!

I tried to backup from actdiag without any luck Smiley Sad Although I get a different message now: "Timeout expired. The timeout period elapsed prior to completion of the operation or the server is not responding. The backup or restore was aborted."

 

I guess I will have to go ahead and upgrade the SQL Server.

 

Best regards,

 

Gio Kopp

Administrator
Posts: 4,024
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: ERROR EXECUTING DATABASE BACKUP STATEMENT

Hi Gio,

Yes, it seems that would be your best option.

Let us know how you get on.
New Member
Posts: 4
Country: USA

Re: ERROR EXECUTING DATABASE BACKUP STATEMENT

Hi Gary,

 

I just created a new database and backed it up without any problems.

I can also backup the Act2010Demo database

If it’s the SQL 2008 bug, wouldn’t it behave the same with all databases?

I ran check and repair, whick did not help...

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks in advance!

 

Regards,

 

Gio

Administrator
Posts: 4,024
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: ERROR EXECUTING DATABASE BACKUP STATEMENT

Hi Gio,

Where is the database which is encountering the issue stored? Is it in the same location as the new database that you've created?
If it's on another drive, you could try moving it to another location (i.e. the location where the new databases are being created) by using the method detailed in the following Knowledgebase article: http://kb.act.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/23392
New Member
Posts: 4
Country: USA

Re: ERROR EXECUTING DATABASE BACKUP STATEMENT

Hi Gary,

 

Sorry for the late reply, I was traveling.
Both old and new deatabasr are in the same location. The old one wont backup and the new one has no problem.

 

Best egards,

 

Gio

 

Administrator
Posts: 4,024
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: ERROR EXECUTING DATABASE BACKUP STATEMENT

You could try making a copy of the database and seeing if the error also occurs in the new version.

 

  1. using ActDiag, detach the database
  2. In Windows explorer, make a copy of the database .adf and .alf files
  3. Copy the database files folder
  4. using ActDiag, reattach the .adf