Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Dynamic group for groups

Dynamic group for groups

Hi to you all

I need to create a sub group that will move on a specific date.

That doesn't seem to clear, does it?

I am a teacher trainer ans I have been using Act to manage my contacts happily for quit some time.

I have two main groups (Active sessions and Closed sessions)

I creat a new group for each planned session and add the contacts to these groups

This new group is a sub group of the Activ group

Is it possible in some way that that group would move as a sub group to the Closed sessions dynamically

when the date is passed?

Has anyone got an idea?

So far I have done this manually, but I am not always reliable and forget to do it ;-))

Any help or push in the right direction would be appreciated

Thank you

Bronze Contributor

Re: Dynamic group for groups

Hello Thompson and welcome to the Act Community.

If I understand correctly the contacts you are wanting to organize fall into two groups:

Group 1 - those who are in the current training session Group 2 - those who were in group 1 and are now in group 2 based on a date, and at that date there is no group 1.  Group 2 includes all completed training session members.

First, remember that groups are not relational but flat files.  So, in reality there is no group or sub-group relationship.  Having said that, I think use of dynamic groups is valid.  I am assuming that you have additional contacts that have not or would not be part of a training session - just other contacts.