Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Difficulty Launching--will only work from Command Window

Copper Contributor
Posts: 131
Country: USA

Difficulty Launching--will only work from Command Window

Hello,

 

My desktop and startup icons recently failed to start ACT!, whereas they were fine until mid-day yesterday.

 

I located ActSage.exe in c:\Program Files (x86)\ACT\Act for WIndows\

 

Double-clicking it doesn't work, but opening a command window and typing ActSage.exe does.

 

Can someone tell me how to restore the old functionality?

 

TIA,

 

Michael

 

 

Sage ACT! Premium 2012 Version 14.0.572.0, Hot Fix 2
English (United States)

WIndows 7

Copper Contributor
Posts: 61
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Difficulty Launching--will only work from Command Window

Hi,

 

- Do the desktop icons do anything (give an error)?

- Try right clicking the desktop Icon and use 'Run as Administrator'

- Check Task Manager to see if ActSage.exe is already running (even though you dont see it).

 

Regards,

 

SS

 

Copper Contributor
Posts: 131
Country: USA

Re: Difficulty Launching--will only work from Command Window

Thank you for your response.

 

When I launch SageAct from the Icon, I get a popup from Windows that reads "Sage ACT! has stopped working."

 

The process appears in te task manager briefly and then disappears.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 131
Country: USA

Re: Difficulty Launching--will only work from Command Window

I tried running as an administrator with the same result.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 61
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Difficulty Launching--will only work from Command Window

A few of things you could do to try an rectify this:

 

- Rebuild preferences - http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14770

- Turn of User Account control in Windows (If using Windows 7, Vista, Server 2008 or Server 2011)

- Use services.msc to see if all required SQL services and the Protexis Licensing service are running.

- Check the Windows Event Log

- Check the ACT! Log Veiwer for any useful information (C:\Program Files\ACT\ACT For Windows\LogVeiwer.exe)

- Try logging into Windows as a different windows Administrator.

 

Hope this helps,

 

SS

Copper Contributor
Posts: 131
Country: USA

Suddenly, ACT 2011 Premium won't launch!!!

ACT won't launch at all now.  I uninstalled and reinstalled twice.  This error appears in the log.  Any thoughts?

 

 

Error Exception: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at Act.Framework.DataExchange.Act7.DatabasePhoneEntity.ToString()
at Act.Devices.Entities.EntityFieldData.GetStringValue()
at Act.Devices.Entities.FieldData.Replace(FieldData source)
at Act.Devices.Entities.Entity.CopyFrom(Entity source, FieldMap map)

 

TIA,

Michael

 

Sage ACT! Premium 2012 Version 14.0.572.0, Hot Fix 2
English (United States)

WIndows 7 x64

Copper Contributor
Posts: 131
Country: USA

Re: Suddenly, ACT 2011 Premium won't launch!!!

Regarding memory, I should have plenty.

 

I have 8GB physical memory wiht 5.5GB available and 1GB free.

 

My paging file is 11.6GB with a max of 17GB.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 131
Country: USA

Re: Suddenly, ACT 2011 & 2012 Premium won't launch!!!

That previous error was for 2012.  Trying to launch 2011 throws this error:

 

Microsoft.Practices.Unity.ResolutionFailedException: Resolution of the dependency failed, type = "Act.UI.ActApplication", name = "". Exception message is: The current build operation (build key Build Key[Act.UI.ActApplication, null]) failed: Value of 'null' is not valid for 'stream'. (Strategy type BuildPlanStrategy, index 3) ---> Microsoft.Practices.ObjectBuilder2.BuildFailedException: The current build operation (build key Build Key[Act.UI.ActApplication, null]) failed: Value of 'null' is not valid for 'stream'. (Strategy type BuildPlanStrategy, index 3) ---> System.ArgumentException: Value of 'null' is not valid for 'stream'.
at System.Drawing.Icon..ctor(Stream stream, Int32 width, Int32 height)
at System.Drawing.Icon..ctor(Stream stream)
at Act.UI.Common.Images.ImageManager.GetIcon(String iconName)
at Act.UI.Core.MenuImageManager.getIcon(String imageFileName)
at Act.UI.Core.MenuImageManager.GetIcon(String urn)
at Act.UI.Core.Explorer.RestoreImagesToCollection()
at Act.UI.Core.Explorer.LoadDisconnectedMenuToolBar()
at Act.UI.ActApplication.InitializeExplorer()
at Act.UI.ActApplication.InitializeApplication()
at Act.UI.ActApplication..ctor(IUnityContainer container, IEventAggregator eventAggregator)
at BuildUp_Act.UI.ActApplication(IBuilderContext )
at Microsoft.Practices.ObjectBuilder2.DynamicMethodBuildPlan.BuildUp(IBuilderContext context)
at Microsoft.Practices.ObjectBuilder2.BuildPlanStrategy.PreBuildUp(IBuilderContext context)
at Microsoft.Practices.ObjectBuilder2.StrategyChain.ExecuteBuildUp(IBuilderContext context)
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at Microsoft.Practices.ObjectBuilder2.StrategyChain.ExecuteBuildUp(IBuilderContext context)
at Microsoft.Practices.ObjectBuilder2.Builder.BuildUp(IReadWriteLocator locator, ILifetimeContainer lifetime, IPolicyList policies, IStrategyChain strategies, Object buildKey, Object existing)
at Microsoft.Practices.Unity.UnityContainer.DoBuildUp(Type t, Object existing, String name)
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at Microsoft.Practices.Unity.UnityContainer.DoBuildUp(Type t, Object existing, String name)
at Microsoft.Practices.Unity.UnityContainer.Resolve(Type t, String name)
at Microsoft.Practices.Unity.UnityContainerBase.Resolve[T]()
at Act.Application.ActBootstrapper.ConfigureContainer()
at Act.Composite.UnityExtensions.SimpleUnityBootstrapper.Run(Boolean useDefaultConfiguration)
at Act.Application.Act.Main(String[] args)

Copper Contributor
Posts: 61
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Suddenly, ACT 2011 & 2012 Premium won't launch!!!

Hi,

Im pretty sure the file Microsoft.Practices.Unity should exist in C:\WindowsAssembly after an install of ACT! If you don't see it in there then something is going wrong during install.

It may be worthwhile copying the contents of the folder folder GlobalAssemblyCache on the DVD to the Windows assembly.

Hope this helps,

SS
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Country: USA

Re: Suddenly, ACT 2011 & 2012 Premium won't launch!!!

I'm having the exact same problem here. Can only launch from the command line. Did you find a solution?