Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Deleting Duplicate Contacts

Deleting Duplicate Contacts

Recently, I purchased "CompanionLink Synchronize" to synk ACT w/ Blackberry. I now have a boatlaod of duplicate contacts in ACT as I had already had my contacts in the phone. How can I delete these duplicates w/o doing each one individually. Naturally I want to delete the duplicate with the least amount of info as well. Any ideas?  I'm new to all this forum stuff.  Thanks for any assistance!
Copper Contributor

Re: Deleting Duplicate Contacts

It can get pretty messy with the BB syncs.

If you want to delete the contacts that were created by the sync, you could create a lookup of all the contacts created the day you did the first synchronization. You might have to do some eye-balling to remove the contacts that were created that day separate from the sync.

Once you have a lookup of just the contacts created by your BB sync. Go to the menu Contacts-->Delete Contact and choose to delete the entire lookup. That'll get rid of them.

You might have a deeper underlying problem though. The safest thing is to synchronize one-way. ACT-->BB. This ensures that duplicates won't creep back into ACT. But the downside is you can't make changes on the BB that get pushed back to ACT. If you really want to sync two-way, it's a best practice to purge and reload one of the sources, usually the BB, when starting the sync relationship. You will lose data, but perhaps a cost worth not having to dedup.

If you want to pick and choose which of the duplicates to keep and which to remove, that is a problem that requires more. Take a look at:
or
Ben Leong
Certified ACT! Consultant
www.accentgold.com
Copper Contributor