Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU change ACT! to default to the Current System Time instead of 12:00 ?

Accepted Solution Solved
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU change ACT! to default to the Current System Time instead of 12:00 ?

Seems like this would have should have been done years ago?

Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU or me change ACT! to default to the "Current Computer System Time" instead of 12:00 ?

Or is there an Add-on?   Anyone interested in creating the add-on?  Smiley Happy

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author FILLSTAFF
‎05-20-2016 12:35 PM
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU change ACT! to default to the Current System Time instead of 12:00 ?

Thanks Gilles - that did it..  Smiley Happy

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html

View solution in original post


All Replies
Administrator
Posts: 4,024
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU change ACT! to default to the Current System Time instead of 12:00 ?

[ Edited ]

Hi Bill,

 

This is a good suggestion. It's not currently a built in feature of Act, but can be accomplished easily with a third party tool like PhraseExpress.

 

I've set this up to print the current date and time in the format that Act expects when I hit Ctrl+F5, so all you'd have to do is click the date/time field dropdown, then press Ctrl+F5. Like this:

 

 

For this to be possible directly in Act, it would be worth suggesting a preference to change the default date/time, in our Share Your Ideas board.

 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU change ACT! to default to the Current System Time instead of 12:00 ?

The default time for a date-time field is part of SQL and would require an addon to set a different dedault. Further in SQL date, time, and date-time fields all have both a date and time component.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU change ACT! to default to the Current System Time instead of 12:00 ?

That's a start. I will try it - much thanks. In the meantime, I would purchase ACT add-on if sum1 cares to develop it.. Smiley Happy

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 231
Country: Canada

Re: Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU change ACT! to default to the Current System Time instead of 12:00 ?

Hi Bill,

 

Actually you can with Automatic Field Calculations. You can create a calc which target field is your datetime field and which syntax is

 

Now() & " " & Time()

 

Then you add a calculation button to the layout and assign it the calc. Then all you have to do is click the button when you want to insert the current date and time in the field.

 

Hope it helps,

Gilles Cavin
http://www.exponenciel.com
Make sure you check our free Act! add-ons!
Create Web forms in seconds and import form results directly into Act! with Automatic Web Forms
Fill in PDF Forms without retyping data using Act! to PDF Forms
Solution
Accepted by topic author FILLSTAFF
‎05-20-2016 12:35 PM
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU change ACT! to default to the Current System Time instead of 12:00 ?

Thanks Gilles - that did it..  Smiley Happy

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU change ACT! to default to the Current System Time instead of 12:00 ?

[ Edited ]

Gilles,

Note: On the Opportunity Layouts - ACT!v17 Pro, I must click the calc button twice.

1st click shows date, then red background color in field( per my selection), but then not able to read date/time.

  then I click it again and it works.  Smiley Happy

It is same for all 15 date/time fields in my opp layout.

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 231
Country: Canada

Re: Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU change ACT! to default to the Current System Time instead of 12:00 ?

Can't reproduce this but try this: Edit your calc and go to the last screen of the calc wizard, right-click and choose Advanced Options... then in the next window, check Current Record Off. See if that makes a difference.


For further communications, please use our Customer Center as this is not exactly an Exponenciel forum Smiley Happy

Gilles Cavin
http://www.exponenciel.com
Make sure you check our free Act! add-ons!
Create Web forms in seconds and import form results directly into Act! with Automatic Web Forms
Fill in PDF Forms without retyping data using Act! to PDF Forms
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Default TIME for a Date/Time field - Can YOU change ACT! to default to the Current System Time instead of 12:00 ?

[ Edited ]

I also noticed that after downloading add-on to desktop, installing your add-on, my windows 7 pc desktop was not refreshing, so

I closed ACT!v17 pro and that alone may have resolved the issue with the Opportunity module,

but I also ran actdiag db rebuild options, then ran scan disk and rebooted pc.

= success  Smiley Happy   thanks again.

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html