Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Database sharing question.

New Member
Posts: 13
Country: USA

Database sharing question.

Hello,

 

I have set up a basic Main Database on a server, with two remote databases running on lap tops.  I am set up as the administrator and the other user is a manager.  My  question is, what happens if I add several contacts, and he adds several contacts, do all contacts get saved and shared?  What if I delete contacts, when we sinc, do they get removed from his database, or does his contacts override mine.  Can anyone help?  I know there must be some info about this.  Where can I find it.  Thanks

Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: Database sharing question.

What happens if I add several contacts, and he adds several contacts, do all contacts get saved and shared?

- Yes, all contacts will be saved.  Its a two-way synchronization.

 

What if I delete contacts, when we sinc, do they get removed from his database, or does his contacts override mine.

- Yes, the contact will delete from his side.  But, say if you delete the contact at 1 PM and the user hasn't synced.  He then updates the contact you've deleted at 2 PM and syncs.  The updated contact will transfer back to your side.

 

Here is some documentation on sync.

ACT! Synchronization Architecture