Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

[ Edited ]

I have been using 2011 Pro for over two years.  All of a sudden now I can not view anything.

 

The database does load, but then ACT minimizes itself.  I can not view anything,  The ACT icon is visible at the bottom.  The alarms do pop up, and I can reschedule or delete them; but I can not view my Database,  Database seems intact.

 

OS:  Windows 7 Home Premium

 

Help please !


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author suru_a
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

Thanks very much !!

 

Oh boy - I owe you a six pack.  Your last solution worked (Sage ACT outside the viewing area) !  Wish I had known that before.

 

Just FYI:  No I have not changed or added the monitor.

 

A huge thank you FSB.  I really do appreciate your patience - I learned a lot.  By the way, now the version shows 13.1.112.6 so it looks like I am up to date.

 

Just so you can help others, I wanted to let you know that I tried all of the below:

  1. Repaired .net Framework and rebooted.
  2. Repaired extended version and rebooted.
  3. Followed actdiag instructions you gave including deleting .pad
  4. checked services.msc
  5. Verified the DB

Nothing worked - so it was down the the viewing problem.

 

Again a big thanks.  Keep up the good work.

 

 

 

 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2013 Pro (Windows 7)

If you rite mouse clicky on the ACT! icon is there a Restore option?

What if you rite clicky on the ACT! icon and select run as administrator?

Perhaps you need to turn OFF User Accounts Control ?

Manuually Check for Windows Updates and see if there are some .net framework items needing installed?

If above suggestions fail, have you tried running ACTDIAG db rebuild options?  cheers - FSB

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

[ Edited ]

Thanks very much FILLSTAFFBILL.  Sorry for the long silence.  I have been out of town.

 

  1. Mouse click at the bottom does not have "Restore' option.
  2. Tried right clicking the icon and ran it as Admin.  Same rresult.
  3. I did not try User Account control - it is off though.  There never was a problme before.  May an update caused it.
  4. I am up to date on all my Windows updates (Win 7).
  5. How do you run ACTDIG

HELP anyone !

 

May be I can uninstall and install ?

Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

Oops - sorry I am using Pro 2011 - NOT 2013.

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

[ Edited ]

Ok but first, just to confirm - Did you Manually check for windows updates?

Also  what is the exact complete version of your ACT!2011?  reference Help / About

Do you have most recent service pak/hotfixes installed?

You should be on service pak1 / hotfix6

reference download center link http://download.act.com/support/downloads/Sage-ACT-Pro-2011-Product-Downloads.html 

 Also reference -ACT! is minimized kb article

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/23807/kw/act%20is%20minimized 

 

if all of the above options did not resolve, close act2011

start / run / actdiag / database / database list

select button onleft of desired db name and rite click

Run the Rebuild database Options( 5 of them in your case).

Close actdiag

goto your my documents / act / act data / databases

desired db fodler and open the .adf file type instead of the .pad

cheers -

reference link http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/26854/kw/2011%20actdiag/session/L3RpbWUvMTM... 

 

FSB

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

[ Edited ]

Thanks FSB.

 

  1. Yes - I manually checked for Windows udates - nothing is pending.
  2. Note that I am not able to view anything so I can not view the version on the affected desktop running Win 7.  Hiwever, I have an identical working copy on my laptop runnung Vista.  Of course being Pro version, I can not network but I copy the DB on the laptopn when I travel.
  3. The version I have on the laptop (still working with no issues) is:  Pro 2011 V 13.0.401.0 Hot Fix 2.  I checked the laptop again - ACT Update says I am up to date - no more updates.
  4. Was the Service Pak 1 a part of Hot Fix ?  Help / About shows the information I gave you above but does not list Service Paks.
  5. From the list, looks like I am missing some Hot Fixes ?  These are dated from 2011 - how was I able to use ACT successfully without applying these?
  6. Are the hot fixes supposed to show up when you check for ACT updates manually?  I check for ACT updates at least every 2 months or so - Hot Fixes never showed up.
  7. Is uninstalling and re-installing is one possibility ?

I will let you comment on the above; and then move to your second para.

 

Thank you so much again.

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

[ Edited ]

Use the link to the download center I provided in prev post. all users/pc's should be running same exact versions.

The way to check to se if oyu have current services paks and hotfixes is to look in your ACT! help / abouut , then visit the download center. -

then after applying the act stuff - manually check for windows updates- things like .net framework stuff may apppear?.

also your act version is networkable - create a remote database for your laptop and then you can keep it in Sync.

Let me know if you need assist with that after you resolve curr issue.

see what that does. - fsb

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

Thanks FSB.

 

  1. Do I have to apply all the Hot Fixes in sequence or will latest take care of all the previous ones (meaning they are cumulative?).
  2. When you check for ACT updates through ACT, is it supposed to show Hot Fixes - it has never shown Hot Fixes.  it always says that there are no more updates and that I am up to date.
  3. When I bought this, they told me that it is good for 3 PCs, but that they can not be networked !  Could you please shed some light on it ?  They said if I network, it will stop working ?!

Thank you again.

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

Just the item at the top of list at download center page

service pak 1 - hot fix6 USA English. - do this on each pc running act2011 pro - fsb

12/16/2011Sage ACT! 2011 SP1 Hot Fix 6ACT2011SP1HF6.exe34100 KBHow to Install Sage ACT! 2011 SP1 Hot Fix 6
Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

[ Edited ]

Thank you for your patience.

 

Looks like I did not have SP1 on this computer so I applied that first (since it would allow me to apply Hot Fix 6).

 

I applied Hot Fix 6 and now it won't open at all.  It says:

 

Could not load file or assembly :ACT Framework Version = 13.1.111.0"

 

Any ideas ?  See below - I just edited this post.

 

----------------------------------------------------------------

 

Now it is back to the same - meaning it loads but I can not view my database.  The bottom icon still does not have "Restore" option.