Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Accepted Solution

Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

Highlighted
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 988
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

[ Edited ]

reboot your pc

 Be sure ACT! is closed/not running while doing these things..

then if not resolved, MANUALLY CHECK for windows updates re .net4 framework,

You should have some update items to apply?

Start / mouse over All Programs and in list you will see Windows Update(click on it)

 then on left you will see and click on Check For Updates

 

if not reference kb article

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/36078/kw/Could%20not%20load%20file%20or%20a... 

 

More info on this error

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/list/p/6512/search/1#s=eyJzZiI6eyIxNzYiOnsiZmlsdGVycyI6.....

 

Will wait to hear back - FSB

Bill Williams - Owner / ACT! Consultant / Trainer at FILL STAFF HR "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://www.fillstaffhr.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
Backup your ACT! Databases DAILY using ACT! / File/ Backup/ Backup Database.(Include Attachments).
Also - FREE - BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors http://www.fillstaffhr.com/bigaldl01.html
Also - FREE - BullZip PDF Printer - Print directly to PDF http://www.bullzip.com/products/pdf/info.php
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

[ Edited ]

Thank you again and sorry to bother you again.

 

Now it is back to its old tricks - meaning it will start but minimize without allowing me to see anything.

 

The 'could not load" error is gone.

 

I have rebooted 3 times.  I have checked for updates manually severla times - no updates are pending.

 

I have tried opening through the database file (using .pad and .adf) - same result.

 

I think I will try repairing - reinstalling MS .net Framework ?

Highlighted
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 988
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

[ Edited ]

Ok I am just guessing - seen this before- just dont recall resolve. but maybe we r close?

Asuming srvc pk1/htfx6 updates were successful and assuming your .net 4 framework is ok and should be listed in your control panel/programs/features, then here is what I would try next-

Close act

start / run / actdiag

database / list database

using button left of desired db name, rite click and select detach database option.

close actdiag

delete your ,pad file type for that db and open the .adf file type.(starts ACT)- the db will be re-verified.

 

if not resolved,  start / run / services.msc and make sure sql server ( act7) is started.

else

go back to actdiag and run the db rebuild options

 

part of svc pk1 and hotfx6 is to allow your version of act to create and sync remote databases.

============================================================================= 

 question - did you have a second monitor or change monitors?

this is one cause and solution below

Sage ACT! Window Outside of Monitor Viewing Area This can occur due to the removal of secondary monitor or changing a monitor's display orientation from landscape to portrait. If this is the situation you may be able to Movethe window back into view. Use the following steps to select and move the Sage ACT! window into view:

  1. Click on the Sage ACT! application icon in the task bar to select it.
  2. Depress the ALT key and Space bar simultaneously, then release.
  3. Depress and release the M key.
  4. Depress an arrow key and release.
  5. Now move the mouse around to reposition the screen.
  6. Left clicking on the mouse will stop the movement.
  7. ========================================================

======= update below are additional causes and resolve for your minimized icon issue.

If the program is running in the task manager, but you can't see it then it may be hidden, In the task manager, right-click on ACT! under the Applications tab and try Switch To, Bring To Front, or Maximize. This may happen if you have a large or dual monitors.

This may possibly be due to a damaged ACT! preferences file as well. See this Knowledgebase article on how to rebuild preferences - use the manual method described in the bottom half of the article:
http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14770/kw/14770

========================================================================================

Somewhere in all of this is the solution? Smiley Happy 

will wait to hear back - FSB

 

Bill Williams - Owner / ACT! Consultant / Trainer at FILL STAFF HR "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://www.fillstaffhr.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
Backup your ACT! Databases DAILY using ACT! / File/ Backup/ Backup Database.(Include Attachments).
Also - FREE - BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors http://www.fillstaffhr.com/bigaldl01.html
Also - FREE - BullZip PDF Printer - Print directly to PDF http://www.bullzip.com/products/pdf/info.php
Highlighted
Solution
Accepted by topic author suru_a
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

Thanks very much !!

 

Oh boy - I owe you a six pack.  Your last solution worked (Sage ACT outside the viewing area) !  Wish I had known that before.

 

Just FYI:  No I have not changed or added the monitor.

 

A huge thank you FSB.  I really do appreciate your patience - I learned a lot.  By the way, now the version shows 13.1.112.6 so it looks like I am up to date.

 

Just so you can help others, I wanted to let you know that I tried all of the below:

  1. Repaired .net Framework and rebooted.
  2. Repaired extended version and rebooted.
  3. Followed actdiag instructions you gave including deleting .pad
  4. checked services.msc
  5. Verified the DB

Nothing worked - so it was down the the viewing problem.

 

Again a big thanks.  Keep up the good work.

 

 

 

 

Highlighted
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 988
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

[ Edited ]

Even better, now your ACT! and OS are up to date. Glad we were successful -

Now you can create remote databases

How to Setup Network Synchronization in ACT! http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/21832/related/1/session/L2F2LzEvdGltZS8xMzc... 

 

Recommend ACT! Backup Folders Pro for managing your ACT! Backups - Free

http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html 

Cheers - FSB

Bill Williams - Owner / ACT! Consultant / Trainer at FILL STAFF HR "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://www.fillstaffhr.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
Backup your ACT! Databases DAILY using ACT! / File/ Backup/ Backup Database.(Include Attachments).
Also - FREE - BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors http://www.fillstaffhr.com/bigaldl01.html
Also - FREE - BullZip PDF Printer - Print directly to PDF http://www.bullzip.com/products/pdf/info.php
Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Country: USA

Re: Database loads but I can not view anything - Using ACT 2011 Pro (Windows 7)

No - actually thank you!

 

Thanks for the tips on sync and Backup.

 

Have a great weekend.