Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Database Locked

New Member
Posts: 14
Country: United States

Database Locked

I recently downloaded the latest updates for act. When I went to log back into this database I am getting the following message

"The database you are trying to access has been locked by an administrator. Please try again later"

 

All users are administrators and I dont have an option to unlock?

Copper Contributor
Posts: 16
Country: USA

Re: Database Locked

Go to actdiag and unlock the db
Kay Hughes
Act Certified Consultant
New Member
Posts: 14
Country: United States

Re: Database Locked

THANK YOU!!!!!! Hours of pulling my hair out and it was such an easy fix...........
New Member
Posts: 1
Country: Canada

Re: Database Locked

Hi Kay,

 

How do you get to actdiag?  I searched in help and it didn't tell me how to access it.

 

Thank you in advance.

 

Dan Dempsey 

Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: Database Locked

- Click the Windows Start button, and then click Run.

- Type actdiag (ACT! 2007/2008/2009), act8diag (ACT! 2006), or act7diag (ACT! 2005), and then click OK.


New Member
Posts: 1
Country: United States

Re: Database Locked

I recently downloaded the latest updates for act. (I have ACT 2009) When I went to log back into this database I am getting the following message "The database you are trying to access has been locked by an administrator. Please try again later" All users are administrators and I dont have an option to unlock?

 

How do I get back in? When I went to actdiag in my run menu, it asks for a .zip file. I backed up the database but don't know where the computer put it!!

Help please!

Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: Database Locked

Sounds like its opening an older version of actdiag.  Go to C:\Program Files\ACT\ACT for Windows and open actdiag.exe.  Then click on Databases > Database List.  Right click your database and select Unlock.

 

New Member
Posts: 20
Country: United States

Re: Database Locked

did as directed. found actdiag. it then gave another error message. tried again and it would not show actdiag.exe. but did show actdiag.exe.config.

now what. have lost about 4-5 hours of work time.

still locked out and can't sync with outlook using act 2012 pro.

Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,543
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Database Locked

You should have invested in an Act! Consultant. Cheaper and quicker.

David Shaw
Act! Certified Consultant since 2001
Office:    +44 (0)1483 714507
Mobile: +44 (0)7977 567 318
E-Mail:    dshaw@act4u.org