Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Accepted Solution

Crystal Reports

New Member
Posts: 17
Country: USA

Re: Crystal Reports

ah ... how do i create by own?

i've never created or worked with OLE DB.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,796
Country: USA

Re: Crystal Reports

You do it through the OLEDB option rather than use the ACT! option where you specify your link to the database.
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
New Member
Posts: 17
Country: USA

Re: Crystal Reports

I did select OLE DB ... i just don't know what to do next.

 

i'm in Crystal Reports and creating a blank report.

i select OLE DB (ADO) 

then i need to select the Provider

and this is where i don't know what to do.

 

as noted, i've never done this before

at this point, if you could help ...

if you could write me through the necessary steps would be more productive then what's transpired thus far Smiley Very Happy

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,796
Country: USA

Re: Crystal Reports

I'm no Crystal expert. I was able to do it for a report that I needed to do in Crystal. At present I don't remember the exact steps and would need to go through the experimentation myself. Sorry I can't be of more help.
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 108
Country: United States

Re: Crystal Reports

This should help How to Manually Start OLEDB
New Member
Posts: 17
Country: USA

Re: Crystal Reports

Thank you!

 

the article shows the ACT! OLE DB Provider for Reporting 7 (or 8 as an option).

  • Under the Provider tab, click the ACT! OLE DB Provider for Reporting 8.0 or 7.0 option, and then click Next.
  •  

    mine just shows ACT! OLE DB Provider for Reporting

     

    but it seems to connect!

     

    ACT! 2008 v10.0.3

    Office 2007

    Crystal Reports v10

     

     

    thanks again!!

    New Member
    Posts: 10
    Country: Canada

    Re: Crystal Reports

    I can find the provider listed in Crystal Reports but what does one use for the Datasource?

     

    I'm using ACT! 10 and Crystal Reports 2008.

     

    Detailed instructions would be greatly appreciated.

     

    Thanks!

    Highlighted
    Copper Contributor
    Posts: 17
    Country: United States

    Re: Crystal Reports

    [ Edited ]

    Step by step to access an Act! 10 DB using Crystal 2008:

     

    1. Expand OLE DB (ADO) in the Datebase Expert

    2. Double Click Make New Connection

    3. Select ACT! OLE DB Provider for Reporting from the Provider list, click Next

    4. Enter the link to your DB file (ex: \\server\folder\db_file.pad) in the Data Source field

    5. Enter your user name in the User ID field

    6. Enter your password in the Password field, click Next

    7. Click Finish

    8. Expand nodes (ex: connection-->db_name-->dbo)

    9. From here you should be able to utilize the listed fields

     

    Hope this helps.

    Message Edited by COL_ADMIN on 08-27-2009 08:11 AM
    New Member
    Posts: 10
    Country: Canada

    Re: Crystal Reports

    Dang, COL_ADMIN! 

     

    That worked great, right up until I opened dbo and found only one table therein:  VRP_MYRECORD.

     

    Crystal read the fields correctly, on the good side.

     

    Can you suggest what might be wrong?

     

    Thanks for your interest and rapid response.

    Copper Contributor
    Posts: 17
    Country: United States

    Re: Crystal Reports

    [ Edited ]

    Are you logged into the DB as admin?

     

    Sounds like this could be a rights issue(?) (ie. to the server, or to the DB, etc.)

    Message Edited by COL_ADMIN on 08-27-2009 08:41 AM