Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Converting ACT6.03 database to ACT2009 - Timeout error

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: Canada

Converting ACT6.03 database to ACT2009 - Timeout error

Keep getting a timeout error trying to convert old database from 6.03 to latest ACT2009. I've run actdiag and set the timeout settings to 1999 seconds, but still get the error message.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Converting ACT6.03 database to ACT2009 - Timeout error

How many contacts in the ACT! 6.0 database?

How much RAM?

At what point in the conversion do you get the error?

New Member
Posts: 1
Country: Canada

Re: Converting ACT6.03 database to ACT2009 - Timeout error

We are getting the same issue with our conversion.

We have 512MB RAM.

Its at the Updating Database 25% point.

 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Converting ACT6.03 database to ACT2009 - Timeout error

I personally consider 1GB as the minimum for best use of ACT! 2009 with Windows XP (2GB if running Vista).

 

Did you do a Compress/Reindex and ACTDIAG maintenance on the ACT! 6 database before the conversion?

 

Can you have a look at the conversion log and see the last part?

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: Canada

Re: Converting ACT6.03 database to ACT2009 - Timeout error

Update: I purged my history (I had about 4 years worth!) and that solved the issue. However even with 1GB of RAM it still runs WAY slower than ACT6. Sluggish and hangs for 15 seconds at a time. I'm getting a new Laptop next month so I'll muddle through until then.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Converting ACT6.03 database to ACT2009 - Timeout error

I usually recommend 1GB as minimum for ACT! 2009

 

But the biggest factor in speed for ACT! with SQL is the speed of the hard drive (in RPM)... when you get your new laptop, see if you can request a 7200rpm drive.