Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Conversion Error Going from ACT 6.0 to 2007

New Member
Posts: 4
Country: Australia

Conversion Error Going from ACT 6.0 to 2007

Hello all,
 
I'm having trouble in converting a database from 6.0 to 2008 (10.0) and the knowledgebase isn't helping.  Once the conversion has started I'm getting an error -
 
Conversion has been halted with the following message :  Error in application
 
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Nickel Super Contributor
Posts: 584
Country: USA

Re: Conversion Error Going from ACT 6.0 to 2007

Are you able to convert any ACT 6 database? Test this by trying to conver the ACT 6 Demo database. Let's if it can be narrowed down to a program issue or a database issue.
New Member
Posts: 4
Country: Australia

Re: Conversion Error Going from ACT 6.0 to 2007

Haven't been able to convert the demo database either. After speaking with the Sage technical support here in Australia yesterday afternoon it appears that it might have been a SQL problem. SQL is not loading properly and there were several attempts at unloading SQL and reloading. Also unloaded ACT2008 fully and reloaded and still no luck. Can't even open the demo10 database.
Copper Contributor
Posts: 58
Country: UK

Re: Conversion Error Going from ACT 6.0 to 2007

Can you create a new database in 2007? If not what error do you get, if it is failed to  open a connection to the database then see the article below:
answer id 19408
 
although in my experience you will need to use the uninstall/manually uninstall and reinstall in selective start up mode:
 
article id's 19338, 19346 and 1499
New Member
Posts: 4
Country: Australia

Re: Conversion Error Going from ACT 6.0 to 2007

Thanks Broony unfortunately have been through that as well. Did the whole uninstall (using the Uninstaller app that is suggested in the KB) and install in Selective Mode yesterday. Still no joy.
Copper Contributor
Posts: 58
Country: UK

Re: Conversion Error Going from ACT 6.0 to 2007

Its a long job but do the manual uninstall, almost always (95%) works
 
When reinstalling go into selective start up and make sure you are an admin.
New Member
Posts: 4
Country: Australia

Re: Conversion Error Going from ACT 6.0 to 2007

OK shall do the manual un-install - fingers crossed.
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Conversion Error Going from ACT 6.0 to 2007