Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Contact Report - email question

Contact Report - email question

I am new to ACT and am running ACT 2009 version 11.  When running the contact report under the "reports" dropdown the define filters dialog box appears.  Under the "history" tab, I check "email" to display email messages that have been sent to contacts.  However, I am trying to produce this report to show the fact that email activity has taken place (along with notes, etc...), but I do not want pages of detailed email messages to appear in my report.  I saved the report under a different name and tried to edit the report, but could not pinpoint where the email is being generated. 

For example, I may just want to show email subjects under the contact section or number of emails sent to a contact.

Any advice/direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Copper Elite Contributor

Re: Contact Report - email question

Have a look at the History Summary Report, which will provide a count of History Items.
Regards
Neil Gilford
ACT! Certified Consultant
Gilford Computer Solutions
neil@gilford.com.au
Platinum Elite Contributor

You would need to edit the history subreport and eliminate printing the details.
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129

Thanks for your help...I have the email message eliminated.  I wrote some vbScript to replace the email message with "email sent".  I allow the notes for "call completed" to appear.    I am now trying to work with a custom field to display the number of email messages that have been sent per contact (like suggested in the History summary report).  However, the report is displaying a seperate line item that reads "Total: 1" through several iterations instead of just summing the number of emails.  I am trying to figure out how to get summary level information.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Platinum Elite Contributor