Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Change in design layout has very limiting consequesnces

Change in design layout has very limiting consequesnces

I have been using ACT for many months now (stared with version 9 and now have current 11). I created a design layout for our contacts based on need. I made wholesale changes in filed names and locations in the design. In some cases I did away with the defaults and created new one... (i.e. salutation, home address, personal email etc) and in some cases I forced a fit. At the time I had no idea that the fields were linked to forms and maps so that the default fields had links within the overall application. Now we have all sorts of data in fields that don’t show up when we use certain features within ACT. (maps for instance only have the default zip code to go by....all the other fields were scrapped for names that better met our needs for designation) so now when we try to open a map it goes tot he center of that zip code. Can we (and if we can how) “re-point” those fields so that they will function in their original intended capacities? We don’t want to have to go back and recreate the original design layout with the original fields and move all that data into the original fields. This is the first time I have used this forum so I am sure I have done some things wrong. Please correct me and I will learn. Thanks.

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: Change in design layout has very limiting consequesnces