Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

Accepted Solution Solved
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

[ Edited ]

CanNot open ACT!2011 today on one of my stand alone windows7 pc's

  - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution. All ACT! databases on this pc  will not open. - Nope - actdiag did not help.

It's a brand new day.  any help much appreciated - all was working fine until today. Will be trying to run act!diag, any more ideas? Thanks - FSB 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author FILLSTAFF
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

[ Edited ]

Re-installed act2011 - now what is most curent version I need please - hotfix 2  version 13.0.401.0  or  sp1hotfix4 ?

cus I have hotfix2 and no likey hotfix4?

also what happened to hotfix3?

 

ok - i will stop here  at hotfix2- all appears to be working again for now - thanks for the solution

thanks- fsb

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

Hello Bill,
Were any Windows updates downloaded or any new software installed? Any updates to your security software?

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

[ Edited ]

as a matter of fact yes. My pc had been powered off for approx 3 weeks(not used), then brought it back up , installed many updates including anitvirus updates, etc.. -

I also get that err msg pop up screen as my pc is re-booting up.

is there some service not running that needs to be?  like ACT! services host?  I do not see it in my services list?

what now? thanks. fsb

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

Since we don't know what broke it (possibly a .NET 4 update), safest bet is to uninstall, reboot and reinstall (ACT! only - not SQL).

Prior to doing this you may want to check your antivirus and make sure that ACT! and SQL exceptions have been added.

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

[ Edited ]

am using microsoft security essentials and superantispyware.

.net4 was one of those installed items so why did that break act and is reinstall of act2011 only option?

If .net4 is breaking ACT!2011, why no good solution? 

that means I get to reset / re-config a lot of things in my ACT1 database such as custom commands? etc..

column views? etc..

 

just tried to reinstall from act2011 cd and got msg that a newer version was already installed and could not continue.

 suppose you are going to tell me to un-install act2011 first?

 thanks - fsb - TGIF

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

ACT! is actually ok with .NET 4, it's SQL Express that has issues with it. Is your SQL Server running? It's hard to say what happened with a superficial view, so I'm suggesting an uninstall/reinstall as the safest bet.

If you did not uninstall 2011 prior to the reinstall, then yes. The message may be because you have 2011 SP1 installed and the cd is trying to install 2011 w/o SP1 (which means you will have to reapply the updates again). I can send you a download link for 2011 SP1 via Private Message, if you like. You will still need to install 2011 SP1 Hot Fix 4. Are you using Pro or Premium?

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Solution
Accepted by topic author FILLSTAFF
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

[ Edited ]

Re-installed act2011 - now what is most curent version I need please - hotfix 2  version 13.0.401.0  or  sp1hotfix4 ?

cus I have hotfix2 and no likey hotfix4?

also what happened to hotfix3?

 

ok - i will stop here  at hotfix2- all appears to be working again for now - thanks for the solution

thanks- fsb

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

The most current version is 13.1.111.0, Hot Fix 4. If you have 13.0.401.0, then you would first need to apply SP1, then Hot Fix 4 for SP1 (which is cumulative of all previous hot fixes).

 

2011 SP1 Update (which includes HF1) - KB Article 27290

 

Hot Fix 4 for SP1 (apply after SP1) - KB Article 27440

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

got it - thanks again. fsb

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 4
Country: USA

Re: CanNot open ACT!2011 - error message Sage ACT! has stopped working - windows 7 is checking for solution - help - sos -

I'm having the same problem. Uninstalled and reinstalled rebooted. Does not open from links but found I can get into the database by right clicking the .alf and clicking open. It will let me use act but can not get in anyother way????