Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Can you upgrade MS SQL 2008 R2 Express to MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard for Act! 2012 Pro?

New Member
Posts: 7
Country: USA

Can you upgrade MS SQL 2008 R2 Express to MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard for Act! 2012 Pro?

It takes 35 seconds to open & login to Act! 2012 Pro on server itself. I'm wondering if the ACT7 instance can be migrated to  MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard or does it only work with the Express edition? Thank you

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Can you upgrade MS SQL 2008 R2 Express to MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard for Act! 2012 Pro?

New Member
Posts: 7
Country: USA

Re: Can you upgrade MS SQL 2008 R2 Express to MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard for Act! 2012 Pro?

[ Edited ]

Thanks Mike. Is there a published KB or another thread in this forum describing the process of setting up the SQL 2008 R2 standard instance and migrating the ACT7 instance over? Jake

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Can you upgrade MS SQL 2008 R2 Express to MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard for Act! 2012 Pro?

New Member
Posts: 7
Country: USA

Re: Can you upgrade MS SQL 2008 R2 Express to MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard for Act! 2012 Pro?

Hmmm.... It says SQL Server 2008 R2 Standard is only for use with Sage ACT! Premium. Sage ACT! Pro will not work with this version of SQL Server 2008 R2. I'm not sure if this applies to Act! Pro 2011 (referenced in the question) or it is also true for Act! Pro 2012?

 

Jake

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: Can you upgrade MS SQL 2008 R2 Express to MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard for Act! 2012 Pro?

Yes, Pro will only work with SQL Express. I'm not sure that SQL is the source of the slow load times because SQL opens the database at server boot time.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
New Member
Posts: 7
Country: USA

Re: Can you upgrade MS SQL 2008 R2 Express to MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard for Act! 2012 Pro?

You are probably right. I have a license for SQL 2008 standard and was going to try it out. I think I'm left with replacing server hard drives with SSDs. Not sure what else can be done. Jake

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: Can you upgrade MS SQL 2008 R2 Express to MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard for Act! 2012 Pro?

I would try more RAM first. The less the swap file to the hard drive must be used the better will be the performance. ACT! is an I/O bound program.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
New Member
Posts: 7
Country: USA

Re: Can you upgrade MS SQL 2008 R2 Express to MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard for Act! 2012 Pro?

Yep, I bumped the memory from 6 GB to 8 GB over the weekend, currently running about 200 - 400 MB free physical memory, depending on what's going on with the server. It seemed to speed up the Act! a little bit, maybe saved 5-10 seconds to load the program. Just trying to fine tune everything I possibly can. We have only 2 workstation users.... Jake

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Can you upgrade MS SQL 2008 R2 Express to MS SQL 2008 R2 Standard for Act! 2012 Pro?

While I certainly agree with adding memory, before you make a lot of changes to the system, can you better define where the slow response is... From your posts it appears to be at load up. Is that the only time a lag is experienced, or are there other areas of the program affected? How long is the lag with a particular function?

If it is only at the initial load, the lag could be due to accessing the web links associated with the Welcome page. Try changing the 'Startup view' to 'Contacts' (Tools > Preferences > Startup tab) and test.
Greg Martin
Sage