Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Can't connect to database Windows 2008

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Accepted Solution

Can't connect to database Windows 2008

Hiho,

our company purchased Act By Sage 10 and i have the follwing problem. I installed Act By Sage 10 on the Host(Windows Server 2008 32 Bit) and the Client(Vista 32 Bit).I studied the following papers:

How to Share an ACT! by Sage Database over a Network
 Error: "Could not access the specified database"

Every test in the second papers passe, but i got still the error, i cant connect to the Database. Has someone an idea?

(if i change the role an i host the DB on the client(vista), everything works, but that is not my aim....)

Greetings Marko 

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author markol
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor

Re: Can't connect to database Windows 2008

Hiho,

i can browse the share, there is no problem. I can host a DB from the Vista Client and access ist from the Windows 2008 Server.

I found a solution, now it works fine Smiley Happy 

Here is the solution maybe interessinting for your FAQ, i run Mircrosoft SQL Server 2008 on Windows 2008 and the sqlserverbrowser (the service) does not run as default. Enabling the service and ajusting the firewall setting, allowing traffic for sqlbrowser.exe in : "C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Shared"solves my problem.

Although thank for trying to help me Smiley Happy

Greetings

View solution in original post

All Replies

ACT! 2008 isn't compatible with Server 2008.  So I'm not sure if this will be something specific to it being incompatible or just a simple sharing issue.  Is this error when accessing a local database or a workstation access the shared database?  If its a shared database issue, try opening the PAD file in Notepad and change the computer name to the internal IP address of the server.

Copper Contributor

Hi,