Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

CTRL + V not working in lookup

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United_Kingdom

CTRL + V not working in lookup

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

 

I've searched this on the forums, but can't find a problem which matches entirely - or a solution. I was hoping someone can help...

 

It's such a simple thing but, we can't use CTRL + V in the 'contains' field in the lookup along the left. We can use it for copying across company details in the contact screen, but just in that one place, we have to right click and paste.

 

It's not a huge deal - it's just a mild annoyance to those of us who have become indoctrinated with the shortcut!

 

Is this feature not available, or is it something unique to ours and I have to adjust a setting?

 

Any help would be great.

 

EDIT: Forgot to mention, we are running ACT! by Sage 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: CTRL + V not working in lookup

I wasn't able to reproduce this issue; tested with 2010, 2011, and 2013 on XP. 

 

To see if it can be isolated:

Does this occur for all users?

What are the operating systems where it doesn't work?

Desktops or laptops?

Wired or wire-less mouse?

Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: CTRL + V not working in lookup

Hi Greg,

 

Apologies for the delay;

 

This occurs for all users

The Operating systems vary, ranging through XP, Windows 7 and Windows 8

Both laptops and desktops 

All are with a wired mouse (but having tested wireless, the issue is the same)

 

For clarification, here is where we see the issue:

 

ACT.jpg

 

 

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: CTRL + V not working in lookup

I can understand how this would be a nuisance - I'm a big fan of CTRL+V myself.

Unfortunately I haven't heard of this issue before and am unable to reproduce it, so I don't have a fix for it.

Things to look for:
- Since it occurs across multiple systems/all users, look for something common to them all
- Are you using any add-ons
- Try with anti-virus software disabled
Greg Martin
Sage
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: CTRL + V not working in lookup

[ Edited ]

Do you have curr version running on all systems- have all the current srvc packs / hot fixes been applied?

Me thinks you should be on svc pack 1 hotfix 5?  find out here

http://download.act.com/support/downloads/ACT-2010-Product-Downloads.html

 

Have u tried running ACTDIAG ( rebuild options) onthe affected databases?

Close ACT!

Start

Run

ACTDIAG

select desired db

run the rebuild options

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19675/~/how-to-access-the-act!-diagnostics-...

cheers - fsb

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: CTRL + V not working in lookup

Hi Bill,

 

Thanks for your suggestions on this... I have just tried to download and install the following: ACT! by Sage 2010 SP1 Hot Fix 5 - (UK) United Kingdom

 

Ours is currently ACT! by Sage 2010 Version 12.0.409.0, Hotfix 1, so it seems reasonable to suppose we need the update. However, when trying to install, I get the following:

 

error.jpg

 

Do I need to install it on the computer which holds the 'master copy' so to speak? Reading through the instructions, it seemed to suggest it needed to be installed on all computers using ACT...

 

Apologies for making the problem turn into something else, but now I'm wondering if the company has missed a whole heap of updates and/or has the wrong version etc... (I'm new to the company and trying to better facilitate ACT)

 

Thanks for all the help so far; it's minor annoyances, but would be good to get everything sorted.

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: CTRL + V not working in lookup

Yes you forgot to mention the UK and multi user part.

 

Reference kb articles - How to Apply your ACT! 2010 UK updates.

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/list/p/6512/search/1#s=eyJzZiI6eyIxNzYiOnsiZmlsdGVycyI6...

 

I'm guessing you have 1 Server(main database), then the other  users are probably RDB (Remote databases) that are probably synced to the main server. But I am just guessing.

 

But not having your ACT! up to date will cause that Cntrl-V issue. Smiley Happy FSB

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html