Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Brand new user needs help!

Brand new user needs help!

Hi Everyone! I'm a complete newbie to Act! and quite honestly have no clue how to use it. I'm not sure how I was nominated in my group to become the guru but I digress.

I have figured out how to add new contacts (go me!) however is there anywhere to add family members? Such as children, grandchildren etc?

Also, I put a note under one contact regarding a meeting and the note shows up on every single contact under the notes tab. How do I keep a note exclusive to one contact?

Thank you in advance!

Copper Super Contributor

Re: Brand new user needs help!

Hi and welcome to ACT! A great place to start is in the help menu both the online manuals and the feature tours are very useful.

There is a place for spouse in the default template but kids etc would have to be added, create custom fields and modify your layout.

As for the notes you must have had more than one contact selected when you created the note.

GL and happy learning 

Brad Marquardt
realtimeACT, Inc
Colorado, USA

Is there a way to delete the note from every single person's notes? Or will my meeting note that was intended for one client be there for everyone forever?

(Did that even make sense? LOL)

Copper Super Contributor

Unfortunately, you will have to delete the individually.
Brad Marquardt
realtimeACT, Inc
Colorado, USA
Platinum Elite Contributor

You could ad fields for the family member, add Secondary Contacts or add full Contacts... it really depends on what info you want to keep on them and what you want to do with them.

A future meeting should be scheduled as an activity... a meeting that you've held should be recorded in history - either by clearing the activity you created or, if you hadn't created the activity first, by clicking record history (or Ctrl-H)

Platinum Elite Contributor

imcamel wrote: