Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Best Practices Question - Remote Databases

Copper Elite Contributor

Best Practices Question - Remote Databases

I work in the financial services field and work at home as well as on the road.  I am in my office, and connected to the LAN, about 50% of the regular work day.

My questions revolves around the ACT/Outlook integration and sync.  When using the remote database (Remote.db) I must change the E-mail integration from the main database (Main.db) to Remote.db before loading Outlook and writing emails, etc.  When I am back in the office and connected to the LAN I must change the E-mail integration back to Main.db and remove Remote.db, again, before starting Outlook.

My question: Would it be best practice to use Remote.db as my primary database, even when in the office?

Pros:

1. No re-jiggering Outlook (and GMail) integration between databases each time I'm changing locations.

2. Remote.db would always be up-to-date (no more "Oops, I forgot to sync with Main.db before heading out").

Cons:

1. I'll lose the real-time updates to schedules and contacts made by other people in the office logged into Main.db.

2. While on the LAN I'll have to sync mutliple times during the day to keep Remote.db current with Main.db.

What has been your experience?

Thanks,

Greg

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: Best Practices Question - Remote Databases

I usually find it's simpler to just use remote and use scheduler to sync more often when connected

But a possible third option... use the main db in the office, let emails stay with remote. When you sync, it sends the emails from remote and receives all data changes
Copper Elite Contributor

Mike,