Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Posts: 60
Country: Canada
Accepted Solution

Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

Hi

 

It seems to me that after I create and populate the fields for a company, I should be able to bring up that company record, and from there create a new contact - prepopulated with all the company information (rather then me having to reenter it) and have the contact automatically linked to that company.  I can't seem to find a "create new contact for this company" type of command.

 

Alternatively, I would think that in creating a new contact, once I select the company, I would be given the option to have ACT autopopulate the company related fields (address at least).  Can't seem to make that happen either.

 

Once I have the company and contact all set up, I can change the company record and have the linked fields changed in the contact, but that requires me to have already selected the company from the contact and then go back to the company etc etc.

 

What is the easiest way to create new contacts and associate them with a company without a lot of copy / pasting?

===========================
Ken Wiens
Project and Program Manager
www.kgw-consultants.com
============================

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author kenwiens
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 95
Country: USA

Re: Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

In Act 2010....

 

Go to the Companies view.

 

Select the Company the contact should be created from

 

Click the Companies menu item at the top of the screen

 

Towards the bottom of the drop down is a "Create Contact from Company" item, select that.

 

That should probably do what you need. 

 

Mike 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

First create your Contact Record,

  then select; Contact / Create Company from Contact

     Cheers - FSB

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Copper Contributor
Posts: 60
Country: Canada

Re: Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

Thanks - but I am looking to do the opposite.  I already have a company and want to add additional new contacts.  How can I get the company data to auto populate into the contacts record.

===========================
Ken Wiens
Project and Program Manager
www.kgw-consultants.com
============================
Solution
Accepted by topic author kenwiens
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 95
Country: USA

Re: Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

In Act 2010....

 

Go to the Companies view.

 

Select the Company the contact should be created from

 

Click the Companies menu item at the top of the screen

 

Towards the bottom of the drop down is a "Create Contact from Company" item, select that.

 

That should probably do what you need. 

 

Mike 

Copper Contributor
Posts: 60
Country: Canada

Re: Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

Excellent!  Thanks.

===========================
Ken Wiens
Project and Program Manager
www.kgw-consultants.com
============================
Copper Contributor
Posts: 23
Country: USA

Re: Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

Great info....  Thank you!  This was the first time I beleive that I searched the community and found my answer on the first try!  yippie-ki-yay

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

Easy to use-Powerful-Free Tool for Automatically Entering New Company / Contacts with work addresses/phones/emails placed in the Work address area of your ACT! contact record using Broadlooks FREE Contact Capture.  You can see a automated demo of how I use it with ACT!2010/11/12/13 on my Recruiting Software add-on site at http://fillstaff.com/products/automationdemo2.html    here is link to download free version of Contact Capture  http://www.contactcapture.com/        My site is best viewed with ms ie browser(compatibility view)  - My Demos start automatically when you land on the page.  Cheers - FSB

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 2
Country: USA

Re: Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

Bill,  Perhaps you can answer a question for me, in an older version  of Act, when entering into the company field the name of a new business, if the business was already in my data base it would prefill the name of the company which was great because I would know it had already been entered....   It was almost like a drop down for businesses.  This newer version does not do that...  Do you have any thoughts?  Much Thanks...

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

[ Edited ]

FrancisX,

I may need more info re version of ACT! you are curr using and version you refer to in past?

But this may be your solution as previously mentioned in this post;

Example, I am curr in my ACT!2011 database, in the Company Module of ACT!

From the desired Compnay record.

Then using Toolbar on top, Select: Companies,

   then select Create Contact from Company record option.

Nice that there there are so many ways of doing things in ACT!

Hope that was what you were looking for? Cheers - FSB

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 2
Country: USA

Re: Auto populate new contact fields from Company information

Bill that is great and a big help, but I have 1,000 companies already in the data base, how do I get all of them in the company list without having to enter each one...