Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Attachemts directory contains > 87000 items

Copper Contributor

Attachemts directory contains > 87000 items

Hi,

I have been using act for several years now and the attachments directory now contains more than 87000 items.  This directory is stored on a network drive which is backed up every 24 hrs but my IT dept now complains that it becomes more and more difficult to back up all Act files. The attachments directory ONLY contains email messages. Documents are stored in separate directories per year but I cannot seem to find a way to get Outlook do the same.

I am now using Act V18 18.2.53.0, Update 5 on a windows 7 machine

regards Leendert Smit

Administrator

Re: Attachemts directory contains > 87000 items

Hi Leendert,

Could you clarify what you mean when you say that your Documents are stored in separate directories? Any files that are stored as 'attachments' to the database will be placed into the Database Files > Attachments folder. It's possible to attach things like documents using 'shortcuts' or 'links', which point to another folder - is this what you mean?

When an email is sent and attached using the built-in Outlook integration, it will be placed into the Attachments folder. You can change the attachment option in Tools > Preferences > Email & Outlook Sync > Email System Setup.

If the options are set to record 'Email subject, message and all attachments' then the email will be stored in the database attachments folder. You could set the option to 'Email subject and message (recommended)' - this will record the contents of the email directly into the history, without attaching the email.

Copper Contributor

Thank you for your reply.

I now see that all link files  to attached documents are also stored in the attachments directory so I have a problem with both email  and link files.