Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Act2009 Export to Act Files

Accepted Solution Solved
New Member
Posts: 13
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Act2009 Export to Act Files

We are trying to Export from Act2009 to an Act 11.x file, so we an import into the newest Act V18.

It seems to have gotten through all the Exporting Data except the Export of the Activities.  It is taking hours and seems to be at a stand still at the half way point on Activity.  We have exited this process once and restarted the export only to have the same thing happen.

Any suggestions?


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by Gary W (Administrator)
‎05-03-2016 04:28 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Act2009 Export to Act Files

From the Premium version, you can do the Save_As to Pro ... then you need to manually move the database.

Or, ACTDIAG has the option to Downgrade the database from Premium to Pro

See: http://kb.act.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28079

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Act2009 Export to Act Files

Bronze Elite Contributor
Posts: 1,409
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Act2009 Export to Act Files

You may need to convert to ACT V16 before moving to ACT V18 if your old version of ACT was using SQL 2003 as I do not believe you can go from an SQL 2003 database to a SQL 2014 one. Mike knows more about ACT than I will ever do so wait on his reply and guidance.

New Member
Posts: 13
Country: USA

Re: Act2009 Export to Act Files

Thank you for the suggestion. We did previously try that, but we get an error "database was created using ACT premium and can only be opened with Premium version of ACT".  The error then indicates we should select SaveCopyAs  and select Pro version.

We are currently using ACT2009 Premium.  We just purchased ACTPro V18 and are trying to get database into new software.

Thank you in advance for any other suggestions.

Solution
Accepted by Gary W (Administrator)
‎05-03-2016 04:28 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Act2009 Export to Act Files

From the Premium version, you can do the Save_As to Pro ... then you need to manually move the database.

Or, ACTDIAG has the option to Downgrade the database from Premium to Pro

See: http://kb.act.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28079
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Act2009 Export to Act Files

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Act2009 Export to Act Files

New Member
Posts: 13
Country: USA

Re: Act2009 Export to Act Files

Awesome, that is what I neeed the ACTDIAG utility. It converted the database from Premium to Pro.

Thank you for your help.