Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Act! Scheduler issue

Act! Scheduler issue

I set up Act Scheduler to backup my database every weekday at 4:00PM. Inside of Act Scheduler I can see that it was successfully set up. However, for some reason it does not actually back up. I made sure I'm checking the proper destination folder.

Any idea why it will not backup despite being seemingly properly set up? Thanks for any help.

Matt

Administrator

Re: Act! Scheduler issue

Hi Matt,

What version of Act! and Windows are you using?

Have you followed all the steps in the following Knowledgebase article?
http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19218/

Yes, that is exactly what I had already done.

I figured out how to solve the problem and I have a very good idea of what caused it. This past Saturday is when I initially setup the auto backup, the same way I've been doing it for over five years dating back to when I was using the 2010 version of ACT (I recently switched to ACT 17, Pro). I set it for every weekday, Mon-Fri, at 4:00pm. Shortly after that, I received an error message I'd never seen before every time I attempted to start the ACT scheduler. It said: 

“Object Reference not set to an Instance of an object”

And the scheduler would no longer open for me. Through trouble shooting the issue on my own I found that if I went to the ACT Scheduler icon in the bottom right of my screen, which I previously did not know existed, I could start the scheduler again (I'm using Windows 10 FYI). No more error message. I have no idea what caused the message in the first place and still don't know what it means.