Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Act Pro version 16 email hyperlinks causing act to close

Act Pro version 16 email hyperlinks causing act to close

I have been using ACT for many years. For the past few months when I click on an email link in the contact I get an error message... "ACT! has stopped working... A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available." (is there a way to get more info on this error?)

When I reopen ACT I sometimes am able to use the links and it works for a few contacts... but inevitably the by the second or third click... I get the message and act stops working. I have used this feature for SEVERAL years on 2 other versions without issue. My other users are on Windows 7 and are not reporting the problem.

Here is my info:

Act! Pro Version 16.1.207.0, Hot Fix 1

Windows 8.1 Pro (latest version)

Office 2013-outlook is installed on my local machine

The ACT DB is installed on our internal 1 GB LAN

All other parts of ACT seem to be working fine. I am able to use the links for web-sites without issue.

Thank you,

Silver Super Contributor

Re: Act Pro version 16 email hyperlinks causing act to close

Could be a problem with your address book.  A bad email address will cause that issue.  I have a program I sell to quickly find badly constructed email addresses.  Contact me offline if you're interested.

Stan

If you would like to get more out of ACT! you can find an ACT! Certified Consultant near you by going to:www.act.com/acc.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stan Smith
ACT! Certified Consultant
ADS Programming Services, Inc.
(205) 222-1661
www.adsprogramming.com
www.actwebhosting.com
Click Here to Purchase Act!

That is not it... these are emails that have been in the DB for years and again... not having problems on the win 7 machines.