Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Act Db conversion help please

Accepted Solution Solved
New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Act Db conversion help please

Hi All,

 

I am hoping someone can help me.

 

I have act 2008 Premium (version 10) running on an old Windows 2008 server.  We purchased a new server and have Act 2016 Pro Installed on it.

 

I need to take the old Act Db and move it to the new Server with Act 16 on it.  

 

I am struggling to find out how to convert the data.  I want to avoid installing Act 16 on the old server and converting the Db.

 

Is there a way I can move a back up of my v10 Db to the new server and convert the Db there? 

 

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

 

Looking forward to some direction

 

Dale


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author dteschjr
‎10-17-2017 05:14 PM
New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA

Re: Act Db conversion help please

Hi,

 

I solved the issue.  

 

I had to install the trial version of ACT v16 Premium, take v10 Premium  backup data and import it into the v16 trial version, then Save as ACT Pro 16.  Removed ACT Premium, and then installed ACT Pro v16 and opened the newly created ACT Pro 16 Db..  Walah!  

 

A bit of a pain, but it worked.  

 

Thus I successfully migrated our old v10 Premium data to v16 Pro.  

 

Thanks

 

Dale

 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Employee
Posts: 106
Country: USA

Re: Act Db conversion help please

Not sure if this helps with the versions you have...

 

 

 

28079 How to downgrade an Act! Premium database to Act! Pro

http://kb.act.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28079/kw/downgrade%20from%20premium

 

 

22168 How to Downgrade an ACT! Premium Database to ACT! Standard in Act! versions 2005 (v7) to 2011 (v13)

http://kb.act.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/22168/kw/downgrade%20from%20premium

New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA

Re: Act Db conversion help please

Thanks Carl, but unfortunately it didn’t help much.  Ty for trying to help.

 

Anyone else with ideas?  

 

Thankd

 

dale

Administrator
Posts: 285
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Act Db conversion help please

Hi Dale,

 

Exactly as you've said in the original post, updating an Act! database should simply be a matter of taking a backup of the database (this should create a .zip file, which you can then transport to the new server) and restoring it on the new version of Act! using File > Restore.

 

Is there a particular step that seems to be giving you problems?

 

 

Solution
Accepted by topic author dteschjr
‎10-17-2017 05:14 PM
New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA

Re: Act Db conversion help please

Hi,

 

I solved the issue.  

 

I had to install the trial version of ACT v16 Premium, take v10 Premium  backup data and import it into the v16 trial version, then Save as ACT Pro 16.  Removed ACT Premium, and then installed ACT Pro v16 and opened the newly created ACT Pro 16 Db..  Walah!  

 

A bit of a pain, but it worked.  

 

Thus I successfully migrated our old v10 Premium data to v16 Pro.  

 

Thanks

 

Dale