Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Act 2011 Pro - Share, Sync or both?

Act 2011 Pro - Share, Sync or both?

I am new to Act and I am installing 2011 Pro for 3 users - 2 use stationary desktop computers and one uses a notebook computer that is in and out of the office. 

Here is what I think I know:

1. I can install 2011 Pro on a server machine that will be used as the main database only - since this machine will not use the ACT application itself I can reuse the serial number on one of the 3 client computers.

2. Should I NOT install the SQL Server 2008 database on the 2 desktop computers and just have then share the main database?

3. Should I install SQL Server 2008 on the notebook computer and then it can either share the main database or sync with it?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Leon

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: Act 2011 Pro - Share, Sync or both?

lls55 wrote:

1. I can install 2011 Pro on a server machine that will be used as the main database only - since this machine will not use the ACT application itself I can reuse the serial number on one of the 3 client computers.

Not an issue, the licenses are to the named user.

2. Should I NOT install the SQL Server 2008 database on the 2 desktop computers and just have then share the main database?

You will have to install the SQL server on each machine but you would share the database on the server.

3. Should I install SQL Server 2008 on the notebook computer and then it can either share the main database or sync with it?

Yes.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Leon

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129

Dear Roy,

Last week  installed ACT 2011 Pro on 4 diffrent PC(Windows7) without SQL (by mistake) and the SQL and database file is on  another Windows 2008 Server machine but seems working Ok so far somehow.