Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Act 2010 sync desktop to laptop - sudden problems

New Member
Posts: 9
Country: United States

Act 2010 sync desktop to laptop - sudden problems

I have used 2010 and it has worked fine. I sysnc my data bases on my laptop - no problems. That was until a few months ago. Suddenly my laptop said my trial version had expired. Called hin and was fixed - and was told - this shold not happen again. Well it did - today. can't sync. This time was told - we can't fix it - you need a specialist that charges. When I ask if Act made this so in order to make perfect working software fail - he said no. I find that hard to understand. If the software is working but the software says my trial version that has been on my lap top for years has expired again - how would it not be Act related? All I want to do is sync to have data on my laptop when I am at home. What must I do? Still works fine on my desktop - same version on my laptop but he told me it was not Act 10. Funny - it says Welcome to Act 10 and has worked absolutly great for sevearl years. Am I being forced now to buy something else? What do I do? Many Many thanks - a bit fustrated becuase they said it would not happen again and I have been loyal to Act for many many years.
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: Act 2010 sync desktop to laptop - sudden problems

Hello MartinD18,
If you are getting a message that your trial has expired and need to register the software, please see this Knowledgebase article for possible solutions:
http://kb.Sagesoftwareonline.com/cgi-bin/Sagesoftwareonline.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1424...

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

New Member
Posts: 9
Country: United States

Re: Act 2010 sync desktop to laptop - sudden problems

 

 

Will do - could you help me clarify one question with support.  When this problem 1st happened  - it was only on one computer - my laptop - that I use to sync as a back up - and can work at home. When I called it - the person there said it should not happen again. It did. This time - Friday the fellow said - he could not help me - even when the software clearly has all the necessary numbers on the screen when pulled up.

 

My quesiton is - understanding it is older software but it does exacty what I need it to do. How would this no longer work unless Act pulled the plug? Seems a bit unfair. His statement was that I needed to hire a specialist and upgrade. At some point I will upgrade however why would something I bought suddenly stop syncing - unless Act caused it? He could not answer that question saying only it was a software issue. How could Act saying my trial version have software issues that require paying someone when the problem is the software saying my trial has run out - when I own the software?

 

Thanks - I really so appreciate the help.

New Member
Posts: 9
Country: United States

Re: Act 2010 sync desktop to laptop - sudden problems

not sure if this will help - as I did not want to make changes that might harm either desk top or computer.

 

I called Sage - I have the licence nuber and registration number. Everything is in order - verified I own it - have owned it and prior

versions.

 

When she had me check numbers on laptop - everything was find - and she wanted to give me a new activation number on the laptop. Her system would not allow her to do so. She tried.

 

I could not get my mind wrapped around why this would happen - or what I needed to do next - does this make any sence?

All I used Act 10 on the laptop for years was to sync my database so I would have a working copy. Now I am falling behind on that.

 

Is there anything I can do?

Thanks so much!

                          

New Member
Posts: 9
Country: United States

Re: Act 2010 sync desktop to laptop - sudden problems

Read article - references other versions but not Act 10. Spoke to Act Add On - but they no longer sell Act Products. Have read everything I can get my hands on.
What could be the possible reason for Act 10 on my lap top to simply state after owning the software for so long - that a trial period ended? If I do not sync soon - I will have to re-built sync structure again - and would like to avoid as it was working perfectly. I can't even get past trial version expire message to check and see if updates are missing.

What to do please? Really in a jam as I do not understand how something as simple as a (trial) version expire message is even possible since I have owned the software for years. Thoughts?
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: Act 2010 sync desktop to laptop - sudden problems

The message does not actually mean that a trial period has expired or that your serial number is no longer valid. This usually means there is an issue with the registration file or the Protexis licensing service that ACT! uses to validate your registration when you open the program. These items reside locally on your machine. The information in the KB article I linked for you should have fixed this - are you still getting the trial expiration notice after applying the solutions in the article?

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

New Member
Posts: 9
Country: United States

Re: Act 2010 sync desktop to laptop - sudden problems

  • After your registry has been backed up navigate to the following location in the Windows Registry: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ACT\ (64-bit Operating System: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432node\ACT)
  • Ensure that there is a Install key present under the ACT key.

With care - I made it to this point. Here is where it get's crazy. There is no Act Key thus there is no Install Key under it. After backing up the registry - I got this far - and after seraching and following close the instructions -  I did a registry search and did not come up with anything. What bothers me is that this step calls to ensure there is a install key under the Act key. With no Act key I ma not sure what the next step should be? What do I skip to or does  this off set any hope of resolving the problem.

 

Act 2010 resides on my C drive of my laptop.

 

Would you be kind enough to adivse me the next step? I will follow your directions.

Thanks