Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Act 2010 and MS Office 2010

New Member
Posts: 8
Country: USA

Act 2010 and MS Office 2010

Hi Guys...got a problem...

 

New Computer with an install of ACT! 2010 and install of new MS Office 2010

 

Office  2010 was installed on the computer first....then I installed ACT! 2010 and got it up and running...however ACT does not have a clue that MS Office is on the computer. When I choose what word processor to use all the list shows is the Act word processor and the same for MS Outlook email set up.

 

It's like MS Office is not even on the computer.

 

Is this a problem with the ACT not set up to work with the newer version of MS Office?

Do I need to upgrade to ACT 2011??

What can I do? HELP. I want to syc to and have outlook work so I can email.

 

Thanks..

Barry

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Act 2010 and MS Office 2010

Yes, to get the full integration, you do need ACT! 2011
Also, Office 2010 must be installed in 32-bit mode if you have a 64bit OS
It is possible to get a limited connection. See:
http://blog.glcomputing.com.au/2010/08/office-2010-support-with-act-by-sage.html
New Member
Posts: 8
Country: USA

Re: Act 2010 and MS Office 2010

Thanks for the quick reply..my new system is 64 bit.

So, to review......

 

1....upgrade to ACT! 2011

2...uninstall MS Office and then reinstall in 32 bit.

 

Correct??

 

Thanks again,

Barry

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: Act 2010 and MS Office 2010

ACT! 2010 does not support Office 2010, but ACT! 2011 does. However, there is an inexpensive add-on from on of our developement partners that will enable Office 2010 compatibility with ACT! 2010. You can find it here:

http://www.designr1.com/shop/act-word-2010/

 

There is a free trial so you can test it out.

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Act 2010 and MS Office 2010

If you go with the upgrade to ACT! 2011, you'd do it this way:
1. Uninstall ACT! 2010
2. Uninstall Office and reinstall in 32bit mode (which even Microsoft recommends)
3. Install ACT! 2011 - ACT! must be installed after Office.
New Member
Posts: 8
Country: USA

Re: Act 2010 and MS Office 2010

Mike,
I have done as you have suggested...syc to outlook did not work at first but now seems to be working. Go figure.
Thanks
Barry
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Act 2010 and MS Office 2010

If you mean the email, it should just work now

If you mean the Contact sync, I find it pretty unreliable and best avoided ... keep good backups