Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Act 2008 10.0 Import .csv file does not replace with newest information

Accepted Solution Solved
Accepted Solution

Act 2008 10.0 Import .csv file does not replace with newest information

Act! 2008 version 10.0

I have previously never had any issues with importing a .csv file and having the data match to existing contacts and then replace existing data in various fields. Now, all of the sudden, the data will not update. Yes, I have done the following:

- matched duplicates on multiple choices

- checked the .csv file for corrupted data

- attempted multiple times with no success

- tried on a limited number of contacts

- etc. etc.

The only change that has occurred is that I recently merged two existing databases. However, I am still an administrator, still have permissions, the fields still are NOT coded "READ ONLY" etc., etc.

Can anyone help? 

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author jminsc
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM

Re: Act 2008 10.0 Import .csv file does not replace with newest information

The issue has been resolved. Apparently the database in question needed to be repaired and rebuilt via the actdiag tool. The import and overwrite of existing fields with newer information now works just fine. Yes - on Act! 2008 version 10.0 you are able to import AND OVERWRITE information into fields which already have existing data (i.e. they are not empty) without purchasing an add on.

I am not completely up to speed on later releases, but from what I have read it appears that this overwrite feature has been disabled on newer versions of Act! The reason why is beyond my comprehension. 

Best, 

View solution in original post

All Replies
Platinum Super Contributor

Hello Jminsc,

Welcome to the Act! Online Community!

For your import there are a few tests you can do to see where the issue lies:

1. Be sure you are signed on locally to the computer hosting the database? (not accessing it over a network)