Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ACT2009-Problems to add fields

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Posts: 56
Country: Netherlands
Accepted Solution

ACT2009-Problems to add fields

[ Edited ]

In need to make more fields and doing Tools-Design Layout/Contacts etc.

In adding a new field name and clicking add  then it is created but I get a pop-up  saying ** INDEX-1  does not have a value**

the problems is I cannot jump out/Close, other than Ctrl/Alt/Del and then I get do you like to save (I say Yes) and then I have to logoff

and Login again.

I did several things: Maintain Database/Reindes/repair.

What is also annoying that in clicking Design Layout  I should have the Design Layout,but sometimes it comes back in

the Normal  Contacts/Address etc screen.

 

What to do,because one or two is not problem, but some 30 add fields to go,is frustrating.

 

Thanks for help.

William

Message Edited by Wim Rippen on 06-28-2009 07:38 AM

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author Wim Rippen
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 56
Country: Netherlands

Re: ACT2009-Problems to add fields-

ThanksSmiley Very Happy to a Backup some days ago,I found in a remote directory,I restored and NO problems anymore.

 

Thanks for support anyway!!!

 

William

View solution in original post


All Replies
Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: ACT2009-Problems to add fields

Hello William,

 

I have a couple questions to help narrow down the issue.

 

- What OS are you using?

- Are you using 120 DPI?  If so, switch it to 96 DPI and restart ACT!.  Follow the DPI Settings section in the KB below on how to check and change the DPI.

     Calendar View Shows All Mini Calendars

- When you load ACT!, is the startup view the dashboard? 

- Do you get the same error if you create fields by going to Tools > Define Fields?

Copper Contributor
Posts: 56
Country: Netherlands

Re: ACT2009-Problems to add fields

Thanks dlunchford for reply sofar:

OS:Windows Home premium 32 bits

Server: Notebook\ACT7

Memory 4 Gb Ram

ACT 2009 11 - 1 user.

 

120-96 DPI,you mean layout in 1024x768  rsp 800x600 ? I work with layout 1024x768 and Screendisplay(Configuration) 1440x 900 on 17"screen

 

All worked normal last days,with adding,  some 80 extra fields I added, and then suddenly (powerfailure?) i got these ***Index-1** error.

I tried also now Tools/Define fields and ALSO herer I get now error: ***Define fields encountered errors and logged the issue**

 

I tried on other machine(copying files) and there I get same errors as well. So it should be  something like error in Act-Layout/Display sneaked into

the program.

Hoping I can maintain my layout,because it was a lot of work, but if required I have to RE-INSTALL the ACT2009 ?? completely??

 

 

Copper Contributor
Posts: 56
Country: Netherlands

Re: ACT2009-Problems to add fields

Sorry, I forgot one reply: the Contacts screen is the first screen I see upon starting.

Not Dashboard.

William

Copper Contributor
Posts: 56
Country: Netherlands

Re: ACT2009-Problems to add fields

Font Scaling is , and was always ,with me 96 DPI.

 

William

Solution
Accepted by topic author Wim Rippen
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 56
Country: Netherlands

Re: ACT2009-Problems to add fields-

ThanksSmiley Very Happy to a Backup some days ago,I found in a remote directory,I restored and NO problems anymore.

 

Thanks for support anyway!!!

 

William