Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ACT!v16 Pro error msg = sorry we're having trouble starting outlook2013 desktop when outlook is already running?

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

ACT!v16 Pro error msg = sorry we're having trouble starting outlook2013 desktop when outlook is already running?

[ Edited ]

ACT!v16 Pro - Outlook 2013 error msg = sorry we're having trouble starting outlook  when outlook is already running.

If outlook is not already running, I dont believe my customer gets this error message?

I'm guessing but he may have initially installed outlook2013 for web?  then possibly realized he needed the outlook 2013 desktop and installed it? just guessing but what is a resolve please? - No info in the knowledgebase that I could find.

Thanks FSBill

 

Chris Wwerley actv16 outlook error msg 10092014.jpg

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 30
Country: Germany

Re: ACT!v16 Pro error msg = sorry we're having trouble starting outlook2013 desktop when outlook is already running?

Hello Bill,

 

If you could please answer my following questions.

 

First of all i think ther is no old version of outlook visible in the control panel?

 

Does the Outlook run before the installation of Act!?

 

Is there anything strange at the Windows Event viewer?

 

Could you please try to get Outlook working in the safe-mode.

 

Thanks.

 

Best Regards

 

David

 

 

www.crmaddon.com

 

 

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: ACT!v16 Pro error msg = sorry we're having trouble starting outlook2013 desktop when outlook is already running?

[ Edited ]

David,

Thanks for the response.

Not able to understand some of your questions.

Office was installed before ACT!v16 pro.

No change running outllook 2013 desktop in safe mode.

Is there anything strange with Windows Event Log? = YES, it is freekin windows 8.1 or 2? Not looked at the os event log yet.

Have limited time to get on the pc to work on issue remotely and his internet speed is too slow for my remote assist connection.

 

This is the 2nd time I tackled this issue. He just leaves outlook2013 desktop closed when he is using ACT!v16pro.

I know others have mistakenly installed office 365 online version before they discovered they needed the desktop version instead for ACT!v16 pro...

So because of that, windows thinks there are two versions of outlook installed when the desktop is running and ACT! tries to send a email..

I provided the exact ACT! error message and Swiftpage needs to address the prob in the knowledgebase please..

I fear that the resolve is to do full uninstall of ACT! and MS Office, then do it all over again. Sorry won't happned by my hands.

No other prior versions of ACT! or Office has been installed on his pc.

Later today I plan to install Service Pack 2 to see if that resolves issue.

If servc Pak2 does not resolve issue, I plan to delete preferences.

Any other ideas welcome. thanks again Smiley Happy FSBill

 

 

 

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,653
Country: USA

Re: ACT!v16 Pro error msg = sorry we're having trouble starting outlook2013 desktop when outlook is already running?

Try closing Outlook and check the Processes with Task Manager and end any processes for Outlook.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: ACT!v16 Pro error msg = sorry we're having trouble starting outlook2013 desktop when outlook is already running?

[ Edited ]

Thanks for the input Roy,

 

I think I found the cause but still not sure of resolve?

I noticed user had Microsoft ... Click-To-Run installed on the pc.

 

Below info is probable cause - but how do I resolve?

cus ACT!v16 Pro will not work with Outlook2013 according to act kb article,  if it was instaled via MS Click-To-Run...

 

How to: Verify Whether Outlook Is a Click-to-Run Application on a Computer
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/office/ff864733(v=office.15).aspx


Supported Versions of Microsoft® Office by Version of Act!
http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/29499/kw/click-to-run 

 

There appears to be a way to configure click-to-run in a way that will exclude or remove elements but I know nothing about this newer version of office 2013 and 365 and afraid to test it. Not sure if that will free up the conflict or create bigger mess.

Not sure what all he re-installed to not use click-to-run?

Reference    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj219426(v=office.15).aspx  

 

The User confirmed that he contacted microsoft and they sent him procedures to resolve, but it sounds to me like he should have un-installed the MS Click-To-Run stuff? then installed the non-click-to-run version of office 2013? I have not seen the info he received from MS yet.

 

Any idea as to easiest solution?

Thanks - FSBill

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 218
Country: USA

Re: ACT!v16 Pro error msg = sorry we're having trouble starting outlook2013 desktop when outlook is already running?

An Act! support tech showed me something that worked. I had the issue on a new Win 8.1 machine after installing Act! v17 Pro. I routinely disable UAC, but the tech said that sometimes it doesn't quite update in the registry. He said go to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System and change the REG_DWORD for EnableLUA from 1 to zero, then restart the system. It worked for me. Smiley Happy

Ron Madara, ACC, APT

BrainSell Technologies.
(201) 853-9317