Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ACT!Pro 2011 won't start

New Member
Posts: 20
Country: USA

Re: ACT!Pro 2011 won't start

[ Edited ]

Ok, I've renamed the dependent file and it's still not working. 

 

I also tried to rename the ACT for Windows 13 file as well and the computer wouldn't let me, even in administrative mode. It said the file is in use elsewhere. I think I will just uninstall and reinstall and see if that works.

 

*EDIT* I forgot to stop the ACT.Outlook.exe service before attempting to rename the ACT for Windows 13 file. I rebooted the computer and it's still giving me the same error. So now I have officially done all the renames recommended and have deleted the preferences. Nothing is working, so now I really will do the uninstall reinstall and let you know how it goes.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,388
Country: Australia

Re: ACT!Pro 2011 won't start

Never try to rename an application ... it will get you into trouble.

Post back with the result after uninstall/reinstall
New Member
Posts: 20
Country: USA

Re: ACT!Pro 2011 won't start

I'm confused, what application did I rename? I renamed a folder as per these instructions: http://community.act.com/t5/Sage-ACT-Premium/Resolution-of-the-dependency-failed-Type-quot-Act-UI/m-...

 

I also renamed the depedent xml file as you suggested. Those are the only things I renamed. I uninstalled and reinstalled and it's still giving me the same error. 

New Member
Posts: 20
Country: USA

Re: ACT!Pro 2011 won't start

Ok, so another update. I uninstalled ACT! again, then went to %appdata% and deleted the ACT! files in there. I figured these were the files causing all the problems. Then when I reinstalled, presto changeo, it worked again.

 

I have no idea why ACT! did this. It seems to be a widespread problem. My boss didn't do anything to his computer, just logged in one day and BAM it didn't work. Problems like this are why I tell everyone to run far far away from ACT. 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,388
Country: Australia

Re: ACT!Pro 2011 won't start

New Member
Posts: 20
Country: USA

Re: ACT!Pro 2011 won't start

Point taken, though I've still had to uninstall and reinstall ACT far more times than I have Windows.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,388
Country: Australia

Re: ACT!Pro 2011 won't start

It's usually the MS components (.Net and SQL) that cause most of the issues.