Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ACT Pro 2011: unable to acquire sync server object. server error description:

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

ACT Pro 2011: unable to acquire sync server object. server error description:

I would really like to sync my laptop with my desktop.

I WAS using Premium 2011.  Got a new job that required Pro2011.  

ACT support peeps successfully downgraded.

I have the main database on my desktop.

Remote database is on the laptop.  (laptop is brand new)

 

How do I get these two to synch?

I work from home and travel.

When I am at home, I use the desktop.

When I am on the road, I use the laptop.

All I want to do is synch the data before I leave for a trip and sync it again when I return.

 

It is JUST ME using the databases.

I have both computers hardwired to the internet.  (My office is in the basement/wireless does not work down here).

Both computers are using Windows 7.

 

 

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: ACT Pro 2011: unable to acquire sync server object. server error description:

Hello Misskitty,
Welcome to the Sage ACT! Online Community!

Were these 2 databases synchronizing before?
Are both computers running 2011 Pro?

If they were, it may be that you need to have the main database open when you initiate the sync from the remote database. Pro requires the main db be open.

Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: ACT Pro 2011: unable to acquire sync server object. server error description:

Hello Greg,

No; these two databases have never sync'ed.

Both are running Pro 2011.

 

I had both databases open last night when I was trying to sync.

Error Message reads:

unable to acquire sync server object.  server error description: failed to find main database [\\my database name] for sync. contact your administrator for assistance.

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: ACT Pro 2011: unable to acquire sync server object. server error description:

Was the remote database created from this particular main database? 

 

If it was, try the steps in this article: KB Article 16533

 

*If the remote was created from a different 'main' database, it will not be able to communicate with the new one.

Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: ACT Pro 2011: unable to acquire sync server object. server error description:

It was set up from the main database.

It is my understanding that Pro2011 is unable to sync via the internet. (?)

If this is correct; how do I set up a network between my two computers?  

I am not using a router/wireless for either computer.

 

The sync setting are correct/port numbers.

 

Is there a way to SIMPLY export/import changes from one database to the other?

 

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: ACT Pro 2011: unable to acquire sync server object. server error description:

I am guessing no reply means no good answer? Smiley Mad

Should I just delete the laptop database, copy the main desktop database over and dock the laptop when I am home?

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: ACT Pro 2011: unable to acquire sync server object. server error description:

Well... no response isn't necessarily an indication of no good answer, but your situation doesn't make for easy synchronization.

 

If there isn't a network in place, then the remote database will not be able to locate the main database/host computer.  You are correct, Pro isn't designed to use the internet for synchronization.

 

You can try a VPN solution (Virtual Private Network), there are several free ones.  Hamachi VPN is one that we used to recommend because it was free, but they now have a fee after the trial period.  Here is an article with instructions for a Hamachi VPN, it may help give you an idea of the efforts necessary to set up and maintain for on-going synchronization: KB Article 23333

 

Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: ACT Pro 2011: unable to acquire sync server object. server error description:

I deleted the non-synching database on the laptop.

Bought a docking station on Amazon.

Moved main database from desktop to laptop.

 

Very disappointed.  I really thought buying the Pro 2011 was the way to go.