Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ACT! Pro 2011 Error Message "ACT! has encountered an error. Please shutdown the application.

New Member
Posts: 6
Country: USA

ACT! Pro 2011 Error Message "ACT! has encountered an error. Please shutdown the application.

I have recently installed the Scan & Orzanizer feature on my ACT! Pro 2011 along with Act 4 Advisors overlay. After the Scan & Organzier  install I started getting the error message "ACT! has encountered an error. Please shutdown the application." every time I switch the view (from the left column) to contacts, groups or companies. I do not get the error message when clicking on the welcome screen, calender, task list, opportunities, reports or dashbord. It only appears when I switch from one of these tabs to the contacts, groups or companies tab. Does anyone have a fix for this?

gthomp
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: ACT! Pro 2011 Error Message "ACT! has encountered an error. Please shutdown the application.

[ Edited ]

Hello GThompson,

 

Try this? Just guessing.

 

Reference KBArticle

http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/25493/kw/ACT!%20has%20encountered%20an%20error.%20Pl... 

 

Here are some additional possible causes/fixes

http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/list/kw/ACT!%20has%20encountered%20an%20error.%20Please%20shutdo... 

 

Need more info. Please provide

 what is your OS?  example  Win7Pro 64bit   3.2 gig processor with 4gig RAM

What is your complete version of ACT!2011 - reference Help / About

Recommend you Manually Check for Windows Updates and note: Sometimes Microsoft screws up and puts needed updates in their Optional list so check that also. Apply any windows os updates as needed.

One way to check to see if you have most recent Service Paks / Hotfixes reference ACT Download Center  http://act.com/support/download-center/ 

Cheers - FSBill

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 6
Country: USA

Re: ACT! Pro 2011 Error Message "ACT! has encountered an error. Please shutdown the application.

[ Edited ]

Thanks Bill! I tried the fixes but they did not help. Following are the answers to your questions.

 

what is your OS?  Win7Pro 64bit   3.4 gig processor with 8gig RAM

What is your complete version of ACT!2011 - ACT! Pro 2011 Version 13.1.111.0 Hot Fix 6 - I also have the Act4Advisor 3.0 overlay installed.

Recommend you Manually Check for Windows Updates and note: Sometimes Microsoft screws up and puts needed updates in their Optional list so check that also. Apply any windows os updates as needed. I always keep these up to date and have most recent installed.

One way to check to see if you have most recent Service Paks / Hotfixes reference ACT Download Center http://act.com/support/download-center/   I have the most recent downloads.

gthomp
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: ACT! Pro 2011 Error Message "ACT! has encountered an error. Please shutdown the application.

[ Edited ]

Sounds like things were working until you installed ACT4Advisors Products.

If you tried the fixes I mentioned and that did not work.

You have at least two options.

1:Close ACT! and Start / Run / ACTDIAG

 and run the DB Rebuild options, rebuild schema, security, ole stuff etc..

Reference KB Article http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19642 

If that does not resolve

 then Close ACT -  use ACTDIAG to detach your ACT! database / close ACTDIAG

    Go to your database files folder and open the .adf type instead of the .pad file type. (my documents/act/act data/ databases etc.)..

        ACT! will reverify your custom database and all should be good.?

    

2: Contact ACT4Advisors Support  http://act4advisors.com/Support.asp  

Will wait to hear back from you - cheers - FSBill

 

 

 

 

 

(edited to update kb link)

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 6
Country: USA

Re: ACT! Pro 2011 Error Message "ACT! has encountered an error. Please shutdown the application.

I have been running the Act4Advisors for several years and did not just recently instal it. This problem started directly after installing the Scan & Organize feature that is an add-on from Act4Advisors. Thanks for the info!

gthomp
New Member
Posts: 6
Country: USA

Re: ACT! Pro 2011 Error Message "ACT! has encountered an error. Please shutdown the application.

I have now installed a new version of Act! 2013 and also reinstalled the scan and organize. Same problem as before, the problem is directly related to Scan & Organize and I would like to be able to use it but the error message get;s very annoying as it's popping up all the time.

 

Can anyone help or is anyone else having this issue?

gthomp
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: ACT! Pro 2011 Error Message "ACT! has encountered an error. Please shutdown the application.

Contact ACT4Advisors Support http://act4advisors.com/Support.asp 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html