Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ACT!2014v16 Pro Attempting to duplicate a contact creates blank record or No Record

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

ACT!2014v16 Pro Attempting to duplicate a contact creates blank record or No Record

[ Edited ]

ACT!2014v16 Pro Attempting to duplicate a contact creates blank record or No Record.

Same prob with 2013 Premium.

I can create dup contact records from newly created contact records but not from contact records that have been imported from another act db. If I import from txt tab delimited file, it corrects problem, but my export all records to txt file comes up short. Not exporting all my old act db records to txt file.  Who can I contact to fix this problem? Swiftpage wont return my calls or emails.

I been trying to work with Swiftpage on advertising my product in their online store and that has been several months.

I'm having career choice pains. I have made other post on this forum re this issue but no resolve.

If the ACT! Export to txt file process worked, I could resolve this issue.

IS THERE ANYONE OUT THERE ? HELLO ?  WHO CAN FIX MY DATABASE? BETTER YET, WHO CAN FIX ACT ?

HELLO SWIFTPAGE? ANYONE HOME?

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,651
Country: USA

Re: ACT!2014v16 Pro Attempting to duplicate a contact creates blank record or No Record

I suspect that you have a corrupted database. You will likely need to send the database to aa ACT! database repair facility (several ACCs including Techbenders can provide this service).

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: ACT!2014v16 Pro Attempting to duplicate a contact creates blank record or No Record

Thanks Roy,

I will consult with Techbenders 1st. Other folks have had this issue even with the newest vers 16. They are not using my act db.

Only 1 or 2 customers have ever had this issue with my db? Its been a while.

The prob only applies to contact records that have been imported from another act db.

File save copy as or  empty copy stuff should resolve?

Exporting to txt file and back into save empty copy db should resolve but that losses records in the process.

ACTDIAG should resolve?

It a freekin ACT! problem.

Is there anyway I can use ACT!2013 Prem to Export all 56k records into some format without loosing any records?

Im talkin about using the customers ACT!2013 prem db.

Can he 100% export all contact records into any format at all? and keep his notes? for sure all his records? - FSB

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,651
Country: USA

Re: ACT!2014v16 Pro Attempting to duplicate a contact creates blank record or No Record

The only way to wxport and keep the notes and history is to use a thord party exporter.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: ACT!2014v16 Pro Attempting to duplicate a contact creates blank record or No Record

Thanks Roy,

Is there a cost effective product you can recommend. I know OAK!merge is good but it is expensive for a one time use.

Swiftpage just told me that they can export to txt file without losing any records. I just need notes, do not need history data.

They are looking into this issue now.  -thanks - fsb

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: ACT!2014v16 Pro Attempting to duplicate a contact creates blank record or No Record

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: ACT!2014v16 Pro Attempting to duplicate a contact creates blank record or No Record

Thanks MIke, but neither of these options resolved.

Our work around was basically

After importing from his act db into my fill staff act db, we had the problem, so

We exported the contact records into excel and brought the excell data backinto my fill staff act db.

using Txt Tab delimited or dbase4 format will also clear up the affliction.

 

We have pretty much concluded that there was much potential for field mismatching to occur and that was most likely the initial cause.

Swiftpage pretty much confirmed this also - thanks again - FSB

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html