Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

ACT 2013 - Activity Types, What is the difference between Meeting and Appointment?

Astute Commentator

ACT 2013 - Activity Types, What is the difference between Meeting and Appointment?

Hi Act Community.

I am new to ACT and want to start off using it correctly, so i have a quick question. I did look through the HELP file and even googled, but haven't found much info on this so wanted to ask it here.

In ACT there are toolbar menu quick buttons for new MEETING, TODO, CALL.  If you click any one of them it takes you to the new activity screen at which point you can dropdown and change it to any of the other options.  My question is what is the difference between MEETING and APPOINTMENT ?   Personally they seem almost identical? but to me in my business i am meeting clients and i consider it an appointment. A meeting is something i would consider with a vendor of mine.  So my question is this, why is 'new Appointment nowhere to be found other than in the dropdown of Acitvity.  I wanted to make it a quick menu option, but you cannot, it isn't listed in the customize menu option. The other activity types are, but not Appointment. Even in the New (little arrow to the right) to choose which new you want... doesn't show appointment. You have to choose something else first then change once you get into the created activity?

Is this an oversight or be design?  thoughts?

I will be syncing with my outlook calendar, is there a difference in the way it handles 'meetings' vs 'appointments' ?

Thanks. 

ACT-ActivityType.jpg

Copper Super Contributor

Re: ACT 2013 - Activity Types, What is the difference between Meeting and Appointment?

I use meetings for product providers and business development guys, while appointmetns are for clients

I think its just a personal choice

Jason Dawson Financial Planning
Brisbane | Australia - JDFP Home Page

Act Ver - Act! Premium Version 17.1.169.0, Hot Fix 3