Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ACT 2012 Pro global search yields no results

Copper Contributor
Posts: 61
Country: USA

ACT 2012 Pro global search yields no results

Brand new ACT Pro 2012 installation. Click on Search in Nav bar. Enter a value I know exists in a Contact Note. Click on Go. Nothing happens. No error message, no nothing. Is there a pre-indexing function that needs to happen first? Tried different values multiple times. Absolutely nothing returns.

Greater Chicago area ACC
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2012 Pro global search yields no results

Hello twieczorek,
Is your database a shared database hosted on a server, or local on your machine? See this Knowledgebase article for more information:
http://kb.Sagesoftwareonline.com/cgi-bin/Sagesoftwareonline.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=2820...

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 61
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2012 Pro global search yields no results

The search was done on a workstation using a shared database on a server. Thanks, Greig. I'll check it out.

Greater Chicago area ACC
Copper Contributor
Posts: 61
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2012 Pro global search yields no results

The KB article's recoomendation didn't fix the problem. The client is using MS Small Business Server with Active Directory. The workstation & server have the same time. The other suggesstion didn't make sense since once the user is defined on the server (using AD) only one user ID is needed. I'm not a server OS guy, so the answer didn't make sense to me. Problem still exists.

 

Thanks.

Greater Chicago area ACC
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: ACT 2012 Pro global search yields no results

I thing you might try:
ACTDIAG - select the database
Actions | Refresh Search Indicies
Copper Contributor
Posts: 61
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2012 Pro global search yields no results

Should this action be done on the server or workstation/ Or does it matter?

Greater Chicago area ACC
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: ACT 2012 Pro global search yields no results

All of these need to be on the server ... that's where the indecies are. Also, ACTDIAG can also access databases on the local machine that you run it
Copper Contributor
Posts: 61
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2012 Pro global search yields no results

Thanks, I'll have the client check this out.

Greater Chicago area ACC