Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

ACT! 2009 importing contacts from csv file

ACT! 2009 importing contacts from csv file

I am new to ACT! I have always used excel but have now stepped up to ACT!  I am attempting to import into ACT!  I have saved the excel file as a .csv and went through the process to import however ACT! looked like it was importing but when it was done nothing was there.  I then looked at the trouble shooting and it read that the .csv file must have quotes around the data in order for it to import properly.  I opened the csv in word and the data is comma separated but there are no quotes around the data.  Can anyone help me?
Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: ACT! 2009 importing contacts from csv file

If you have saved the file as a .csv file in Excel, then quotes are not needed. What may be the issue is invalid data in one of the cells or missing data.  When exporting, make sure your .csv file has a column for the Contact name (ie, first and last name).  If you have separate columns for first name and last name, then create a new column, call it "Contact" use the concatenate function in Excel to combine the first and last name columns into that Contact column (see the Help function in Excel on how to use the concatenate function).  Also make sure that every record has a contact name associated with it. If youe have record that does not have a contact name, then either remove that record from the spreadsheet or put some type of value in there (it needs to be unique for each record).

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Copper Elite Contributor