Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

ACT 2008 and Installation

New Member
Posts: 21
Country: USA

ACT 2008 and Installation

I have the ACT CD and keep trying to insatall it to my new computer but it doesn't let me to register? It keep talls me that it can not register at this time and I have to close act and try later?
 
Any comment??????
Nickel Super Contributor
Posts: 584
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2008 and Installation

[ Edited ]
Hi,

Verify that the Protexis Licensing Service is running.

In order to do this, close ACT and go to Start - Run and type in services.msc
Once the Services Window opens, scroll down and find Protexis Licensing Service V2 and make sure the status says starting.

Message Edited by mfaubert on 02-20-2008 07:56 AM
New Member
Posts: 21
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2008 and Installation

Thanks for the prompt reply.
I did checked and the status says starting and it is in Automatic mode.
 
Seems the problem is somewhere else. Any comment welcom.
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 74
Country: Canada

Re: ACT 2008 and Installation

If you have a software firewall - (Norton Internet Security, Trend Micro, etc.) perhaps it is blocking the outbound connection that the registration service is trying to initiate?
 
Perhaps temporarily disable your firewall software and try again?
New Member
Posts: 21
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2008 and Installation

My windows firewall is always disabled and I am using AVG antivirous which is disabled as well.
 
It goes to the step 3 of installation which askes for KEY CODE etc and then gives an error message that it can not register at this time and I can restart act later to register????
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 567
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2008 and Installation

There should be 2 ways of registering, online activation or via telephone.  Since you are having issue with the online method, I suggest calling the number and speaking with a rep who should be able to assist you with the registration, or at least find out as to why the service isn't accepting you product code.
thanks
Matthew McFadden
New Member
Posts: 9
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2008 and Installation

I have done all the above and keep receiving protexis error, what else can I do
Copper Contributor
Posts: 97
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2008 and Installation

Have you tried the manual registration via telephone?
Jason Sellers
ACT! Engineer 2000-2007
New Member
Posts: 9
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2008 and Installation

Our problem is protexis exception error we dont have a registration problem, 
 
 
Encountered an error during checking license:
The type initializer for protexis  threw an exception
 
this halts the application from opening
New Member
Posts: 10
Country: USA

Re: ACT 2008 and Installation

If you are getting the must be an administrator message, it seems to be a known issue. There is an article on the support site that walks you through the steps.