Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

ACT 10. - Memory Hog

Copper Contributor

ACT 10. - Memory Hog

Last year (2007) after some financial difficulties(divorce) I was finally able to upgrade ACT 2000 to ACT 10.0  (2008). There are some definite upgrades, but overall, it is basically the same program I've been using since 1989, with a few more bells and whistles. I also last year upgraded to a new 1.8 Mhz Dual Processor computer with 2 GB of memory. I am running Windows XP Version 2. All the bells and whistles as well as the new PC had me pretty happy. However, as I move forward, it seems that 2 GB of RAM is not cutting it. The sqlservr.exe and actsage.exe are complete memory hogs.

My twofold question is this... Will an upgrade to 4 GB RAM help me out, and is ACT 11.0 (2009) less of a memory hog?

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: ACT 10. - Memory Hog

XP only uses 2 GB of RAM though there is a server setting that will extend that to 3 GB so going to 4 GB RAM would do little good. With the ACT! program, the hard drive speed is very important and the faster the better. RAM usage is a very slippery thing to quantify. If it is available and ACT! is the main program you run, its RAM usage will be very high. However, when the RAM is needed by other programs, Windows will move lesser used program and program modules to the swap file on the hard drive.
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129

There was a Microsoft bug casuing a memory leak that was fixed in 10.02 - make sure you update to 10.02 or 10.03.

You can also limit the RAM for SQL in ACTDIAG, but it's usually best to leave it at the default

Nickel Elite Contributor

The 10.02 and beyond versions did not fix the Microsoft defect, rather the ACT! application worked around it.