Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

38 second network load time (or 3 seconds local)

Copper Contributor
Posts: 62
Country: USA

38 second network load time (or 3 seconds local)

I need help.

 

Loading a local database takes 3 seconds to get to the ACT2011 Login Screen and another 7 seconds to get fully loaded.

 

Loading a Network databse takes 38 seconds to get to the ACT 2011 Login screen and another 42 seconds to get fully loaded.

I created an empty demo database it it also takes 38 seconds / 42 seconds.

I created an several empty and demo databases and all take 38/42 seconds.

 

Why?

What have I done wrong/

 

I even installed SSD drives on every computer.  But still, through the network is 38/42 seconds to get live.

 

have I done wrong.

No firewalls, new DB.  New computers, W7-64 with lotsa ram.

What is wrong with my network that goes from 3 to 38 seconds?

 

If there is an ACT Network Wizard in this forum, I am hiring....

 

Tj

**************
Phoenix, AZ
4 user Act 2011HF5
W7 (32&64) on a W7-64 "Server"
Outlook 2003 and 2007
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: 38 second network load time (or 3 seconds local)

It's not the ACT! program, you have network problems. It could be the actual cable or one of the adapters. It could be mechanical or the adapter configuration.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Copper Contributor
Posts: 62
Country: USA

Re: 38 second network load time (or 3 seconds local)

I agree Roy.

But I've backed up and Restored-As onto a different server with a nice clean brand new SSD "Shared Everyone" and still the same thing.  Moved the DB to different boxes and tried from all different workstations and no change.  38 seconds.

 

I can pull up big PDFS and pics across the network real fast.

 

I am missing something basic. 

All new cabling in the facility.

New Switch.

 

Is there something in permissions for SQL i need?

Is there something about W7 Sharing I have screwed up?

I have a 24 port switch with 5 computers, 5 VOIP phones a bunch of empty lines, 1 DSL modem and 1 wireless-N Cisco broadcaster. 

 

I am so impressed with how ACT has handled my new business expansion.  Program has really been great, but for the network speed.

 

Tomorrow I will replace the switch?

Remove the wireless router? 

Where in this network have I created a black-hole?

**************
Phoenix, AZ
4 user Act 2011HF5
W7 (32&64) on a W7-64 "Server"
Outlook 2003 and 2007
Copper Contributor
Posts: 25
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: 38 second network load time (or 3 seconds local)

Hello, I'd love to hear what the outcome of that was.

 

I had a similar situation not so long ago and I tried EVERYTHING I could possibly think of.

 

Unfortunately nothing worked (but the timings always remained constant like you).  I had to put it down to a hardware issue/conflict.

 

I'm not a hardware expert so I had to pass it over to their IT team to look at it but I don't think they ever did.

 

I'll get my notes for waht I went through and see if there is anything that may help.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: 38 second network load time (or 3 seconds local)

I get very queasy about an SSD on a server, in fact I question there being any advantage to an SSD for the ACT! program. SSDs read fast but write slower, sometimes much slower. The ACT! program requires a lot of disk I/O and on a server it also needs to juggle the requirement of the attached system. I know this would be a royal pain but you might try switching to a conventional hard drive on the server and see what happens.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Copper Contributor
Posts: 62
Country: USA

Re: 38 second network load time (or 3 seconds local)

Its a problem with the DSL Modem.

When I disconnect the DSL Modem from the switch the ACT program loads in 3 seconds on all the computers.

 

When I connect the DSL Modem to the switch, the internet comes back and the network slows to a crawl.


Tested it 10 times this morning and this is the situation.

Ideas?
I have the Firewall turned off in the modem POS.

 

**************
Phoenix, AZ
4 user Act 2011HF5
W7 (32&64) on a W7-64 "Server"
Outlook 2003 and 2007
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: 38 second network load time (or 3 seconds local)

I've never worked with DSL but it sounds like the modem bad or improperly configured. Because the modem connects to the switch via a network connection, if it's bad or configured for low throughput it will drag the throughput of the entire network down. Check the modem configuration or have it replaced.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Copper Contributor
Posts: 62
Country: USA

Re: 38 second network load time (or 3 seconds local)

Right now the DSL modem is plugged directly into the switch. 

Wires are good.

Supposedly some issue of DHCP or NAT which is getting beyond me.

 

I tried hooking the POS DSL POS into a Cisco router wireless-N thing but had same result.

Some google links say I need to go MODEM->ROUTER->SWITCH.

 

Cox is coming with Cable internet next week thank GOD!

**************
Phoenix, AZ
4 user Act 2011HF5
W7 (32&64) on a W7-64 "Server"
Outlook 2003 and 2007
Copper Contributor
Posts: 62
Country: USA

Re: 38 second network load time (or 3 seconds local)

RESOLVED.

Wow, what a journey.

 

DSL modem was fighting with Router.

I bought a combined DSL Modem / Router and all indications point to total resolution.

 

I have internet access, VOIP phones work, ACT loads in a few seconds and the beer is cold.

 

I truly appreciate all the help and support of my ACT bretheren.

 

Tj

**************
Phoenix, AZ
4 user Act 2011HF5
W7 (32&64) on a W7-64 "Server"
Outlook 2003 and 2007
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,170
Country: USA

Re: 38 second network load time (or 3 seconds local)

So it sounds like the routing configuration of the network with the old setup was bad.